Antrobus, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Antrobus, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Antrobus, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1809
Bishop's Transcripts: 1811
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANTROBUS, is a township, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Northwich.[1]

Antrobus St Mark is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1848 from Great Budworth, Cheshire Ancient Parish. Built in 1848 as the parish church for Antrobus and Seven Oaks.

Antrobus is a civil parish and village in Cheshire, England, immediately to the south of Warrington. It is situated within the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester.

Resources

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Antrobus St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Antrobus St Mark Parish (1848) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1848-1909
  NONE
1848-1934
  NONE
1849-1937 Record Collection 1614792 1849-1937
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
    NONE
  NONE
    NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of Antrobus parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms, 1848-1920. Marriages, 1848-1983. Burials, 1849-1974.
2197434 Items 6 - 8
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Antrobus Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (rebuilt in 1935)
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Runcorn (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Antrobus on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 3,675 times.