Apache County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Apache County

Guide to Apache County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Apache County, Arizona


Apache County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Apache County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1864
County Seat St. Johns
Courthouse
Address PO Box 667

70 West 3rd South
St. Johns, Az 85936-0667
Phone: (928) 337-7555
Fax: (928) 337-7586

Contents

County Courthouse

Apache County Courthouse
Clerk of The Court Apache County
P.O. Box 365
St. Johns, Arizona 85936
Phone: (928) 337-4364

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce probate and court frecords from 1879
County Recorder has land records from 1879 [1]

History

14 Feb 1879 - Apache County was created from Yavapai. County Seat: St. Johns, Arizona Area is 11,218 square miles (29,054.5 sq. km.)

Parent County

14 February 1879: Apache County was created from Yavapai County. County seat: St. Johns [8] [9] This county named for the Apache Indians. Look for records in Apache and Yavapai counties.

Boundary Changes

  • 21 Mar 1895 - Arizona created Navajo County from the west half of Apache County.[10] This county named for the Navajo Indians. Look for records in Apache and Navajo counties.

Also see Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

You may wish to search for places in the FamilySearch Catalog. You can search for the more general term, such as "Arizona" and then add the county and town or city, such as "Arizona, Apache, St. Johns."

A more complete list of place names with references can be found at PlaceNames.com. For a more exhaustive list of Arizona place names see Barnes, Will C., and Byrd H. Granger. Arizona Place Names. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1960. WorldCat 479862

For links to the places, see the County Place Name list at the bottom of this page.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Apache County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records: Alpine, Amity, Cooley, Eagar, Greer, Nutrioso, Omer, St. Johns, Union and Vernon.

Court

The general trial courts in Arizona are the county Superior Courts. The contact information for the Superior Court is as follows:

Apache County Superior Court
PO Box 667
70 West 3rd South
St. Johns, Az 85936-0667
Phone: (928) 337-7555
Fax: (928) 337-7586

There is also an Apache County Superior Court Website. The Superior Court handles all cases including general civil litigation, probate, conservatorships, guardianships, juvenile cases, divorces and criminal.

The Family History Library has an Index to District Court papers, Apache County, Arizona [1881-1916] Vault US/CAN Film Number FHL 2310860

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Land records from 1986 to the present are searchable online at the Apache County Recorder's Office.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Apache County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azapache.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Apache County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Apache - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Societies and Libraries

Apache County Historical Society
180 W. Cleveland
St. Johns, AZ 85936
Telephone 928-337-4737
 Hours 9-5 M-F

White Mountain Historical Society
504 East Mohave St.
Springerville, AZ 85938
Hours 11-2 Thurs.-Sat., June-Aug.

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Chinle Arizona
Highway 63
Chinle, Apache, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-871-4605

Eagar Arizona
467 N Butler
Eagar, Apache, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-333-4100

St Johns Arizona
50 North 1st West
St Johns, Apache, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-337-2543

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Apache County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, ch. 49[1850]/pp. 446-452; Baldwin, 117-137; Van Zandt, 28-29, 162-165
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  8. WorldCat 50140092 FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  9. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
  10. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1895, 18th assy./ pp. 96-105

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 17:40.
  • This page has been accessed 18,106 times.