Apache IndiansEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Apache Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
To get started in American Indian Research
The Apache Tribe is primarily associated with Spanish Southwest and the states of Arizona, New Mexico and Oklahoma . See the Bands and Groups below for at least a partial listing of federally-recognized the subdivisions of the tribe, with their locations and reservations. It is important to search for information in all of the possible jurisdictions.
Linguistic Group: Athabascan
Cultural Group: Plains
Ancestral Homeland: Texas, Arizona and Mexico
Apache Eastern: Lipan, Jicarilla, Mescalero, Chiricahua,and Kiowa Apache.
Apache Western: Chiricahua, Tonto, Pinal, Coyotero, Arivaipa, San Carlos,and White Mountain Apache
Population: 1990: 30,000
There is no single tribal headquarters for all parts of the Apache Indian Tribe in the United States. Each part of the tribe has their own tribal offices and headquarters. For information on those offices, see the individual pages for each part of the tribe.
The individual Apache Tribes have the following websites"
Nnee-San Carlos Apache
Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation
White Mountain Apache Tribe
Chiricahua Apache Nde Nation Jicarilla Apache Nation
Lipan Apache Tribe of Texas
Yavapai Prescott Indian Tribe
Tonto Apache Tribe
- Native American Nations, Your Source for Indian Research
- Access Genealogy: Origin and Distribution of Apache Indians
- Smithsonian Institution. Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of Ethnology: [Bulletin]. Washington: G.P.O., 1887. WorldCat 15799566
- Pilling, James Constantine. Bibliography of the Athapascan Languages. Washington: [s.n.], 1892. WorldCat 433075528
The Apache could not be suppressed by the Spanish or the Mexicans.
- 1540: Francisdo Vasquez de Coronado's expedition
- 1786: Presidio Ration Program, the Spanish distributed food and alcohol free to all Apache
- 1835: Sonora post reward for Apache scalps
- 1841: Jicarilla ApacheJicarilla Apache Nation deprived of land by a Mexican land grant
- 1846: homeland became New Mexico Territory
- 1848: Apache land ceded by Mexico to the United States
- 1852 July 1, Treaty at Santa Fe
- 1853 July 27,Treaty at Fort Atkinson, with the Comanche and Kiowa
- 1861: The Chiricahuz under leadership of Cochise went to war with the United States
- The Coyotero and Lipan were nearly exterminated
- 1861: Cochise mistakenly arrested, beginning the Apache Wars
- 1863: The Mescalero surrendered
- 1863: Treaty
- 1864: The Territorial Legislature of Arizona passed a resolution legalizing the killing of all Apache people.
- 1865 October 14, with the Cheyenne and Arapaho
- 1865 October 17, with the Cheyenne and Arapaho
- 1867] October 21, at Council Camp with the Kiowa and Comanche
- 1868:Jicarilla surrendered
- 1870: Reservations established
- 1871: White Mountain Reservation
- 1871: Tularosa Reservation- Mimbreno Apache
- 1871: 125 Aravaipa killed at Camp Grant
- 1872: Cochise and the Chiricahua made peace with the United States. A number of Chiricahua led by Geronimo rejected peeace and left the reservations to raid.
- 1873: Mescalero Reservation is established
- 1874: Cochise dies
- 1875: Tonto Apache moved to San Carlos Apache Reservation
- 1875: Yavapai Apache(1,000) settle on the San Carlos Reservation
- 1876-1877: Chiricahua Apache Indians removed to San Carlos Agency
- 1877: Removal of Geronimo's band of Chiricahua Apache Indians from Ojo Caliente, New Mexico Territory, to the San Carlos Indian Agency, Arizona Territory.
- 1877: Mimbreno Apache forced to move to San Carlos Reservation
- 1886: Geronimo surrendered
- 1887: a group of children sent to Carlisle Indian School in Pennsylvania
- 1887: Jicarilla Reservation established
- 1890's: Government mission schools established
- 1897: White Mountain Reservationis divided into Fort Apache and San Carlos Reservations
- 1903: Fort McDowell Reservation- Yavapai Apache
- 1907: Jicarilla Reservation enlarged
- 1913: Chiricahua Apache resettle on Mescalero Reservation
- 1914: land near Camp Verde, Arizona is reserved for the Yavapai and Tonto Apache
- 1937: Jicarilla Apache - constitution
- 1938: White Mountain Apache - constitution
Additional References to the History of the Tribe and/or Bands
Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Apache tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.
- Mescalero Reservation
- White Mountain Apache Tribe, Arizona (Reservation)
- Tularosa Reservation
- San Carlos Apache Reservation, Arizona (Reservation)
- Tonto Apache Tribe, Arizona (Reservation)
- New Mexico: Fort Sill
- Oklahoma: Anadarko
- Apache/Kiowa - Federal Trust land
- Apache/Mojave/Yavapai - Fort McDowell
- Apache/Yavapai - Camp Verde
- Arapaho/ Shoshone - Wind River
Bands and Groups of the Tribe and Their Reservations
- Fort Sill Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
- Jicarilla Apache Nation, New Mexico (formerly Jicarilla Apache Tribe) -- Jicarilla Apache Reservation
- Mescalero Apache Tribe -- Mescalero Reservation (New Mexico)
- San Carlos Apache Tribe -- San Carlos Reservation (Arizona)
- Tonto Apache Tribe of Arizona
- White Mountain Apache Tribe -- Fort Apache Reservation (Arizona)
- Yavapai-Apache Nation, Arizona (Tribe)
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Correspondence and Census
- Agency records, 1892-1947 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Kiowa Agency
- Census, birth and death records, 1932-1937 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Phoenix Agency
- Comanche, Kiowa, and Apache obituaries Deveney, Sam
- Index to Sam Devenney's Comanche, Kiowa, and Apache obituaries, with death dates Follett, Paul, 1958-
- The Fort Sill Apaches : their vital statistics, tribal origins, antecedents Griswold, Gillett
- Indian census rolls, Camp McDowell, 1905-1909 and 1911-1912 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Indian census rolls, Camp Verde, 1915-1927 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Indian census rolls, Fort Apache, 1898-1939 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Kiowa Indian census, 1904-1915 United States. Office of Indian Affairs. Kiowa Agency
- Kiowa, Comanche, Apache Ft. Sill Apache Indian census at Kiowa Agency, Oklahoma Territory, 1926-1936 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Kiowa Agency
- Kiowa, Comanche, Apache Ft. Sill Apache Indian vital records at Kiowa Agency, Oklahoma Territory, 1924-1937 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Kiowa, Comanche, Apache, Fort Sill Apache, Wichita, Caddo and Delaware Indians: birth and death rolls, 1924-1932 Bowen, Jeff, 1950-
- Miscellaneous census records, 1904-1942 United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Fort Apache Agency
- Rolls of Indian tribes in Oklahoma 1889-1891: Absentee Shawnee (Big Jim's Band), Cheyenne and Arapahoe [sic], Iowa, Kickapoo, Kiowa, Comanche and Apache, Otoe [sic] and Missouria [sic], Pawnee, Ponca, Pottawatomie [sic], Citizen Pottawatomie [sic] (Big Jim's Band), Sac [sic] and Fox Johnson, Emily
- So lingers memory: inventories of Fort Sill, OK, cemeteries--Main Post, Apache Indian, Old Fort Reno, Comanche Indian and Comanche Mission Cemeteries, 1869-1985 Murphy, Polly Lewis, 1915-1993
- Apache mothers and daughters: four generations of a family Boyer, Ruth McDonald
- Apache genealogical research: a beginners guide Stout, Terri Lynn
- The Tumacacori census of 1796 Whiting, Alfred F
- Apache, Caddo, Kiowa Wichita Indian: census rolls Indian Territory 1900-1904 Millican, Valorie
- 1905 Apache Tribe, Kiowa Agency, Oklahoma published in Key Finder, by Northwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society, Woodward, OK, Vol. 12 No. 3 (Summer 1991) and Vol. 12 No. 4 (Fall 1991) FHL call 976.6 D25k
|Tribe||Agency||Location of Original Records||
M234 RG 75 Roll 962
Post-1885 Census M595 RG 75 Roll 693
|Apache||Kiowa Agency,1881-1962||Fort Worth||-||-||Rolls 211-223||5766900-576912|Films|
|Apache||Fort Apache Agency, 1875-1955||
Washington D.C.and Los Angeles
|Apache||Phoenix Area Office, 1928-1937||Washington D.C. and Los Angeles||-||-||Rolls 344-346||
|Apache||Truxton Canyon Agency 1895-1951||Los Angeles||-||-||Roll 581||573847|
|Apache||San Carlos Agency, 1900-1952||Los Angeles||-||-||Rolls 461-470||573847|
Abiquiu and Cimarron Agencies, 1869-82
Jicarilla Agency, 1890-1942
Mescalero Agency, 1874-1942
|Apache Kiowa||Upper Platte Agency,1846-1855||Washington D.C.||Rolls 889-096||
|Apache Kiowa||Upper Arkansas Agency, 1855-1867||Washington D.C.||Rolls 878-82||1638620||-||-|
Kiowa Agency /
|Washington D.C. and Fort Worth||Rolls 375-86||1638620||Rolls 211-223||576900-576912|Films|
|Apache Mescalero||Mescalero, 1874-1946||Denver||-||-||Rolls 254-256||FHL 579664-579666|
|Apache Mojave||Camp McDowell (Pima) Agency,1901-1951||Washington D.C.||-||-||Roll 15||FHL 573861|
|Apache White Mountain||
Fort Apache Agency,1875-1955
Washington D.C. and Los Angeles
|Apache Chiricahua||Arizona Superintendency, 1863-1880||Washington D.C.||Rolls 3-28||1638620||-||-|
New Mexico Superintendency, to 1877
|Apache,Lipan||Texas Agency, 1847-59||Washington D.C.||Rolls 858-61||1638629||-||-|
|Apache, Lipan||Central Superintendencey, 1876-1880||Washington D.C.||Rolls 67-70||1638620||-||-|
|Apache, Mimbreno||New Mexico Superintendency, to 1877||Washington D.C.||Rolls 546-82||1638620||-||-|
|Apache, Mimbreno||Arizona Superintendency, 1877-1880||Washington D.C.||Rolls 3-28||1638620||-||-|
|Apache, Mogollon||New Mexico Superintendency, t0 1877||Washington D.C.||Rolls 546-72||1638620||_||-|
|Washington D.C.||Rolls 3-28||1638620||-||-|
|Apache,-Mojave||Camp McDowell (Pima Agency) 1901-51||Los Angeles||-||-||Roll 15||FHL 573861|
|Apache-Mojave||Phoenix Area Office, 1907-74||Los Angeles||-||-||Rolls 344-45||573847|
- 1852 July 1, at Santa Fe
- 1853 July 27, at Fort Atkinson, with the Comanche and Kiowa
- 1865 October 14, with the Cheyenne and Arapaho
- 1865 October 17, with the Cheyenne and Arapaho
- 1867 October 21, at Council Camp with the Kiowa and Comanche
- Kiowa Agency, M595, Births and Deaths 1924-1932, FHL 576909, 1930-1936 FHL 576911
- Truxton Canon Agency, M595, Births and Deaths 1924-1939, FHL 583040
- Jicarilla Agency, M595, Births and Deaths 1924-1929, FHL 576887
- Fort Sill Apache FHL 928251 item 8
Important Web Sites
- Constitution and By-laws of the Fort Sill Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
- Constitution and By-laws of the Yavapai-Apache Nation
- White Mountain Apache Tribe Official Website
- ↑ Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online
- Basso, Keith H. Wisdom Sits in Places: Landscape and Language Among the Western Apache. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1996. WorldCat 33333802
- Bourke, John Gregory. An Apache Campaign in the Sierra Madre; An Account of the Expedition in Pursuit of the Hostile Chiricahua Apaches in the Spring of 1883. New York: Scribner, 1958. FHL 1009057 Item 3
- Capes-Altom, Mila, Beneath his wings : Indian cemeteries in Anadarko, Oklahoma. FHL 976.641/A2 V3
- Carlson, Paul H. The Plains Indians. College Station, Texas: Texas A&M University Press, c1998. FHL book FHL 970.1 C197p
- Colvin, Verna Rae. The Garden and How It Grew: Eden, 1881-1981. Eden, Ariz: V.R. Colvin, 1981. FHL 979.154/E1 H2
- Doherty, Craig A., and Katherine M. Doherty. The Apaches and Navajos. New York: F. Watts, 1989. FHL 970.3 Ap11
- Edmunds, R. David. American Indian Leaders: Studies in Diversity. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1980. FHL 970.1 Am35
- Forbes, Jack D. Apache, Navaho, and Spaniard. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1960. FHL 970.1 F744
- Goodin, Barbara. Indian Research and History: With Biographies, Book Reviews & Cemeteries. Lawton, Okla: B. Goodin, 2009. FHL 970.1 G619
- Goodin, Kenneth, Alphabetical inventories of Indian cemeteries in Comanche County, Oklahoma FHL 970.1 G619 '
- Goodwin, Grenville. Myths and Tales of the White Mountain Apache. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1994. WorldCat 29702274
- Griffin-Pierce, Trudy. Native Peoples of the Southwest. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 2000. WorldCat 43757436
- Griswold, Gillett. The Fort Sill Apaches: Their Vital Statistics, Tribal Origins, Antecedents. 1976. FHL Film 9282518
- Haley, James. Apaches: A History and Culture Portrait. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1997. WorldCat 6764029
- Stringfield, Thomas. Captured by the Apaches; Forty Years with This Savage Band of Indians. Hamilton, Texas: Herald print, 1911. FHL 973742 Item 3
- Thomas, Alfred Barnaby. Forgotten Frontiers; A Study of the Spanish Indian Policy of Don Juan Bautista De Anza, Governor of New Mexico, 1777-1787; from the Original Documents in the Archives of Spain, Mexico and New Mexico. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1932. FHL 970.1 T361
- Worcester, Donald E. The Apaches: Eagles of the Southwest. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1979. WorldCat 433230521
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives; Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Hodge, Frederick Webb. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1906 Available online.
- Klein, Barry T., ed. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Nyack, New York: Todd Publications, 2009. 10th ed. WorldCat 317923332; FHL book 970.1 R259e.
- Malinowski, Sharon and Sheets, Anna, eds. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998. 4 volumes. Includes: Lists of Federally Recognized Tribes for U.S., Alaska, and Canada – pp. 513-529 Alphabetical Listing of Tribes, with reference to volume and page in this series Map of “Historic Locations of U.S. Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Canadian Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Mexican, Hawaiian and Caribbean Native Groups” Maps of “State and Federally Recognized U.S. Indian Reservations. WorldCat 37475188; FHL book 970.1 G131g.
- Vol. 1 -- Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean
- Vol. 2 -- Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America
- Vol. 3 -- Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau
- Vol. 4 -- California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
- Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians. 20 vols., some not yet published. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1978– .
- Volume 1 -- Not yet published
- Volume 2 -- Indians in Contemporary Society (pub. 2008) -- WorldCat 234303751
- Volume 3 -- Environment, Origins, and Population (pub. 2006) -- WorldCat 255572371
- Volume 4 -- History of Indian-White Relations (pub. 1988) -- WorldCat 19331914; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.4.
- Volume 5 -- Arctic (pub. 1984) -- WorldCat 299653808; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.5.
- Volume 6 -- Subarctic (pub. 1981) -- WorldCat 247493742; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.6.
- Volume 7 -- Northwest Coast (pub. 1990) -- WorldCat 247493311
- Volume 8 -- California (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 13240086; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.8.
- Volume 9 -- Southwest (pub. 1979) -- WorldCat 26140053; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.9.
- Volume 10 -- Southwest (pub. 1983) -- WorldCat 301504096; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.10.
- Volume 11 -- Great Basin (pub. 1986) -- WorldCat 256516416; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.11.
- Volume 12 -- Plateau (pub. 1998) -- WorldCat 39401371; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.12.
- Volume 13 -- Plains, 2 vols. (pub. 2001) -- WorldCat 48209643
- Volume 14 -- Southeast (pub. 2004) -- WorldCat 254277176
- Volume 15 -- Northwest (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 356517503; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.15.
- Volume 16 -- Not yet published
- Volume 17 -- Languages (pub. 1996) -- WorldCat 43957746
- Volume 18 -- Not yet published
- Volume 19 -- Not yet published
- Volume 20 -- Not yet published
- Swanton John R. The Indian Tribes of North America. Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnology, Bulletin #145 Available online.
- Waldman, Carl. Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. New York, New York: Facts on File, 2006. 3rd ed. WorldCat 14718193; FHL book 970.1 W146e 2006.
- This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 15:44.
- This page has been accessed 30,156 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News