Appanoose County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Appanoose County

Guide to Appanoose County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Appanoose County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Appanoose County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1843
County Seat Centerville
Courthouse
Centerville Courthouse.jpg
Address Appanoose County Courthouse
201 North 12th Street
Centerville, IA 52544
Phone:(515)856-6101
Appanoose County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Appanoose County Courthouse
201 North 12th Street
Centerville, IA 52544
Phone:(515)856-6101

Parent County

1843--Appanoose County was created 17 February 1843 ;from unorganized territory. The county was attached to Davis and Van Buren Counties prior to organization 3 August 1846. ; County seat: Centerville [1]

Boundary Changes

Online Appanoose County Planning and Zoning Homepage.

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


History

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Appanoose County, Iowa
Established in 1843, Appanoose County was named was for a chief of the Sac and the Fox Indian tribes that lead the peace party during the Black Hawk War. Appanoose means "A Chief When a Child." [2] During the first part of the 20th century, mining was a major factor in Appanoose. The county seat for Appanoose is Centerville.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

  • Centerville
  • Cincinnati
  • Exline
  • Moravia
  • Moulton
  • Mystic
  • Numa
  • Plano
  • Rathbun
  • Udell
  • Unionville

Townships

  • Bellair
  • Caldwell
  • Chariton
  • Douglas
  • Franklin
  • Independence
  • Johns
  • Lincoln
  • Pleasant
  • Sharon
  • Taylor
  • Udell
  • Union
  • Vermillion
  • Walnut
  • Washington
  • Wells

Neighboring Counties

Davis  • Lucas  • Monroe  • Wapello  • Wayne  • Putnam County, Missouri  • Schuyler County, Missouri

Appanoose CountyDavis CountyWapello CountyMonroe CountyLucas CountyWayne CountyDecatur CountyClarke CountyWarren CountyMarion CountyMahaska CountyKeokuk CountyJefferson CountyVan Buren CountySchuyler CountyPutnam CountyMercer CountyGrundy CountySullivan CountyAdair CountyScotland CountyKnox CountyIAAppanoose.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

  • Cemeteries of Appanoose County, Iowa [9]
Cemetery Transcriptions

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

Church Records and Histories

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Camp of Israel

United Methodist Church

  • Iowa Churches: A File at the Iowa Wesleyan College in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. [12] This file consists of church histories, anniversary programs, and newspaper clippings. It is arranged by towns or by the name of the church.
  • Ministerial Biographies: A File in the Iowa Wesleyan College in Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. [13]These films contain biographies, mainly of Methodist ministers.

Court Records

  • Inventory of County Records - Appanoose County, Iowa. [14]

Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Appanoose - Probate records.

County Histories

Local histories are available for Appanoose County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

  • 100th Anniversary: Iowa Trust and Savings Bank, Centerville, Iowa, 1896-1996. [15]
  • A Pictorial History of Appanoose County, Iowa [16]
  • A Pictorial History of Appanoose County, Iowa. [17]
  • A Pictorial History of the Towns of Appanoose County Past and Present [18]
  • A Report on the Rathbun Dam [19]
  • Abandoned Towns of Appanoose County from Abandoned Towns, Villages and Post Office [20]
  • Appanoose County Historical Atlas; Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Sesquicentennial Commission, 1996 [21]
  • Early Pioneer Stories [22]
  • Historical Sketches of Pioneer Days in Appanoose County, Iowa [23]
  • More Shoal Creek Legends. [24]
  • Shoal Creek Legends 3 [25]
  • Names of Old Towns Fading into Haze of Past Memories" [26]
  • Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa ~ Volume 1 [27]
  • Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa - Volume II [28]
  • Pioneer Roll of Honor [29]
  • Postoffices and Postmasters of Appanoose County, Iowa, 1846 to 1988. [30]
  • Post Offices in Appanoose County, 1865 [31]
  • Rathbun Dam History. [32]
  • Rural School Memories, Appanoose County, Iowa. [33]Information, memories and pictures contributed by many volunteers about the 140 schools in Appanoose County in 1912.
  • Shoal Creek Legends. [34]The three volumes of Shoal Creek Legends were originally newspaper articles published in The Seymour Herald; printed and sold by the Seymour Community Club as fundraising projects. Maurice Stamps grew up around Shoal Creek in Franklin Township, Appanoose County, and served many years as a teacher and administrator in the Seymour Community Schools.
  • The History of Appanoose County, Iowa - 1986 [35]
  • This Day in Iowa History. [36]
  • The History of Appanoose County, Iowa [37]
  • The Place-Names of Appanoose County, Iowa [38]
  • Tour of Iowa Counties: Appanoose County" [39]

Genealogy

Land Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps and Atlases

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Appanoose County, Iowa for European settlers included:

  • Mormon Trails Across Appanoose County, Iowa. [41]

Military History and Records

Civil War
  • Nine Appanoose Regiments in the Civil War [42]

Regiments. Service men in Appanoose County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appanoose County, Iowa:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry , Company I
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D and F
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies F and H
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C, F, G and I
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 36th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company I
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H

World War I
World War II

Museums Archives and Libraries

  • Appanoose County Historical and Coal Mining Museum
    100 West Maple
    Centerville, Iowa 52544
  • Drake Public Library
    115 Drake Avenue, Centerville, Iowa 52544
    See it's collections and resources for local and family history research related to Appanoose County. The Genealogical Society of Appanoose County collection is housed at the Drake Public Library. The genealogy section features family histories, local plat maps, historic phone directories, school yearbooks from area schools, and miscellaneous histories of ghost towns. A microfilm reader is provided at the library to view the microfilm collection which includes: Centerville newspapers 1861-Present, Circuit Court Records, Miscellaneous Church Records, Appanoose County Probate Records, Census Records, Other Iowa Newspapers, Land Records, and Marriage Records.
  • Iowa Genealogical Society Library
    628 East Grand Avenue
    Des Moines, Iowa 50309-1924
    See it's collections and resources for local and family history research related to Appanoose County.
  • Prairie Trails Museum of Wayne County and Historical and Genealogical Library
    515 East Jefferson Street (Route #2)
    Corydon, Iowa 50060
    See it's collections and resources for local and family history research.
  • State Historical Society of Iowa's archives, libraries and museum
    See it's collections and resources for local and family history research related to Appanoose County.
  • The Wabash Depot Museum
    800 West North Street
    Moravia, Iowa
    Obtained from the Norfolk and Southern Railroad in 1976 when the line was discontinued through Moravia, Iowa. Displays include a section car used on the rails in the early 1900s, an operational signal board for signaling train crews before modern radio communications were used, models of trains and railroads that once crossed Appanoose County and Moravia, and artifacts of local history providing a look at how people once lived in Moravia.

Native American

Naturalization Records

Newspapers

The Newspaper Directory on the Library of Congress' Chronicling America lists 21 newspapers which have been published in Appanoose County, Iowa. The site tells the years in which each newspaper was published, detailed information about each paper, and identifies the major libraries that have holdings of it and which issues each library holds. There were other newspapers (in Mystic and Cincinnati) published in Appanoose County, but no copies of them exist. Also, information on Appanoose County often appeared in newspapers in neighboring counties -- Wayne County, Davis County, Lucas County, Monroe County, Wapello County in Iowa; and Putnam County and Schuyler County in Missouri. 
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Occupations

Farming

Mining

  • The History of Coal Mining in Appanoose County, Iowa [45]

Railroads

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Meets in the Iowa Room at the Drake Public Library See list of their publications which are available. Information on coal mines in Appanoose County, this museum is a treasure trove of information. It stores hundreds of books from the old mines. There are also old mortgages and other bank records that can be found here, though they are not organized.

Family History Centers



  • Vital Records

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

    Birth Records

    • Early births in Appanoose County, Iowa 1880-1901 [46]
    • Birth records, 1880-1935 [47]

    Marriage Records

    • Index to early marriages, Appanoose County, Iowa [48] Contains: Vol 1. Bride's index, 1846-1900 -- Vol 2. Groom's index, 1847- 1900
    • Iowa, 1851-1900 Marriages from 1851 to 1900 [49]
    • Marriage records, 1842-1928 [50]

    Death Records

    • Early deaths in Appanoose County, Iowa Index to early death records, Appanoose County, Iowa. Contains Vol. 1. 1880-1903[51]
    Obituaries
    • Book of obituaries, Appanoose County, Iowa Newspapers clippings 1899-1939 and 1910-1950 [52]

    Websites



    Sites with online indexes or images of records
    State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "appanoose county" placed in search box
    The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural insitutions - results of "appanoose county" in the search box
    State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "appanoose county" in the search box
    IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
    USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
    [1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
    Sites that search for links pertaining to Appanoose County, Iowa
    RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
    Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
    CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
    StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
    Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Appanoose County, Iowa
    Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
    FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
    WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
    Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
    See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
    Social networking sites pertaining to Appanoose County, Iowa
    The Jerome Journal blog contains information about the history of Jerome and Lincoln township in Appanoose County and the people who lived in Jerome and the surrounding area
    Musings of MidwestAncesTree blog contains many references to Appanoose County families
    GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
    Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
    Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
    genealogy.com Appanoose County, IA Genealogy Forum
    ancestry.com Appanoose County Message Board

    Sources and Footnotes

    1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
    2. Appanoose County
    3. Lewis, S. Thompson. Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa. New York Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company, 1903. ;Online on the Internet Archive.
    4. transcribed in Iowa Biographies Project
    5. Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Company, 1886 Online in Internet Archive
    6. with John Buban, Charles Cortesio, Charles Fox and Joe Padavich; one microfilm reel - 35 mm;
    7. with John and Jennie Ducey, Marcel Gerard, and John Kuchan; one microfil reel - 35 mm.
    8. The Iowa Press Association. Who's Who in Iowa, a Biographical Record of Iowa's Leaders in Business, Professional and Public Life. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Press Association, 1940; Transcriptions of the biographical sketches of Appanoose County's leaders included in this publication are online on the Appanoose County IAGenWeb page.
    9. Heusinkveld, W. M. Cemeteries of Appanoose County, Iowa Centerville, IA: W. M. Heusinkveld, 1999
    10. Sargent, Diane. ;Children Buried in Iowa Cemeteries: Appanoose County. WorldCat 46801675 Anaheim, CA: Tiger Press, 199?
    11. Sargent, Diane. ;Military Buried in Iowa Cemeteries: Appanoose County. Anaheim, CA: Tiger Press, 1998 WorldCat 46891722
    12. Films FHL 956387–417
    13. Films FHL 956418–42
    14. Jones, Mark H. Inventory of County Records - Appanoose County, Iowa. Iowa City, IA: County Records Project, Iowa State Historical Department, Division of State Historical Society, 1978] Film FHL 1036271, Item #18, Salt Lake City, UT:;Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1979
    15. Beck, Robert Knowlton: 100th Anniversary: Iowa Trust and Savings Bank, Centerville, Iowa, 1896-1996. Centerville, IA: Iowa Trust and Savings Bank, 1996
    16. Arnold, John, Compiled by. A Pictorial History of Appanoose County, Iowa. Volume I.Marceline, MO: D-Books Publishing, 1996
    17. Maxwell, Becky' A Pictorial History of Appanoose County, Iowa. Volume II. Marceline, MO: D-Books Publishing, 2010
    18. Heusinkveld, W. M. A Pictorial History of the Towns of Appanoose County Past and Present,including "Monuments of Ghost Towns" by O. R. Parks. Centerville, IA: W. M. Heusinkveld, 2003
    19. Beck, Robert Knowlton; Report on the Rathbun Dam Centerville, IA: Daily Iowegian, 1954?
    20. Mott; Davide C. in The Annals of Iowa, Volume XVII, Nos. 6, 7 and 8, and Volume XVIII, Nos. 1, 2 and 3, 1930-1932. WorldCat 3596991
    21. Online on Appanoose County Website. Revised by W. M. Heusinkveld and reprinted by the Appanoose County Historical and Coal Mining Museum in 2010
    22. Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Genealogical Society, 19??] Reprint of articles in the Progress Anniversary Edition of the Centerville Daily Iowegian, 10 January 1934.
    23. Heusinkveld, W. M.; Historical Sketches of Pioneer Days in Appanoose County, Iowa Centerville, IA: Bill Heusinkveld, 2004] Originally written as columns for the Centerville Daily Iowegian from July 2002 to July 2004.
    24. Stamps, Maurice. More Shoal Creek Legends. Seymour, IA: Seymour Community Club, August 2007
    25. Stamps, Maurice. Shoal Creek Legends 3 Seymour, IA: Seymour Community Club, 2009
    26. Ramsey, Guy R. "Names of Old Towns Fading into Haze of Past Memories," The Daily Iowegian, 28 November 1948
    27. Taylor, L. L., Editor. Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa ~ Volume 1 Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1913 Online in Google eBookstore.  Online in Internet Archive.
    28. Taylor, L. L. Editor. Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa - Volume II Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company,m 1913] Online in Google eBookstore.  Online in Internet Archive. Biographies from Past and Present of Appanoose County, Iowa, transcribed in Iowa Biographies Project.
    29. Pioneer Roll of Honor published in the Daily Iowegian, 10 January 1934, and reprinted by the Appanoose County Genealogical Society.
    30. Johnson, M. Ruth, Compiled and Researched; Postoffices and Postmasters of Appanoose County, Iowa, 1846 to 1988. Centerville, IA: M. Ruth Johnson, 1988
    31. Post Offices in Appanoose County, 1865 from Iowa State Gazetteer, compiled and edited by James T. Hair Chicago: Bailey Hair, 1865
    32. Beck, Robert Knowlton, and Dan Ehl. Rathbun Dam History. Centerville, IA: Iowegian, 1976
    33. Johnson, Helen Taylor. Rural School Memories, Appanoose County, Iowa. Centerville, IA: Helen Taylor Johnson, 19??
    34. Stamps, Maurice. Shoal Creek Legends. Seymour, IA: Seymour Community Club, April 2007.
    35. Appanoose County Historical Society, Compiled by. The History of Appanoose County, Iowa - 1986. Dallas, TX: Taylor Publishing Company, 1986; 1986 Appanoose County History Book Index ;Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Genealogical Society, 1990
    36. Heusinkveld, W. M.; This Day in Iowa History. Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Sesquicentennial Commission, 1995
    37. The History of Appanoose County, Iowa Chicago: Western Historical Company, 1878 Online in Internet Archive. Online in Google Books.
    38. Fitzpatrick, T. J.; The Place-Names of Appanoose County, Iowa published in American Speech, Volume 3, Number 1 (October, 1927), pp. 39-66, published by the Duke University Press. Reprinted by the Appanoose County Genealogical Society. Digitized by JSTOR which can be accessed through a participating library or institution.
    39. Tour of Iowa Counties: Appanoose County" published in the Daily StateRegister, February 10, 11 and 12, 1869. Online in America's GenealogyBank.
    40. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
    41. Heusinkveld, Willis M., Editor. Mormon Trails Across Appanoose County, Iowa. Centerville, IA: Appanoose County Mormon Trail Association, 1995
    42. Heusinkveld, W. M. Nine Appanoose Regiments in the Civil War Centerville, IA: W. M. Heusinkveld, 2007
    43. Davis, Merle O., Interviewer Iowa Labor History Oral Project .Cedar Rapids, IA: Heritage Microfilm Inc., 2001 State Historical Society of Iowa Special Collections
    44. Iowa State Planning Board, Committee on Business and Industry. The Industrial History of Appanoose County, Iowa. Des Moines, IA: Iowa State Planning Board, Committee on Business and Industry, 1935 Online in the Iowa Digital Library
    45. Heusinkveld, W. M. The History of Coal Mining in Appanoose County, Iowa Centerville, IA: W. M. Heusinkveld, 2007
    46. Early births in Appanoose County, Iowa 1880-1901 FHL 977.789 V2
    47. Birth records, 1880-1935 Films Birth records v. 5 (partial copy) 1909-1914 FHL 1007186 Item 5 fckLR<br>Birth records v. 5-6, 1909-1935 FHL 1674113 Items 1 - 2fckLR<br>Register of births v. 1-2 1880-1895 FHL 1007185fckLR<br>Register of births v. 3-4, 1895-1908 FHL 1007186 Items 1 - 3
    48. Index to early marriages, Appanoose County, Iowa FHL 977.789 V22i
    49. FHL CD-ROM no. 9 pt. 222
    50. Marriage records, 1842-1928 List of Records found at the Family History Library
    51. Early deaths in Appanoose County, Iowa Book FHL 977.789 V22
    52. Singley, Eva B; Book of obituaries, Appanoose County, Iowa Newspaper clippings 1910-1950 FHL 1703826 Items 8-11 1899-1939 FHL 703827 Item 1

     

    Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

    Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


    Did you find this article helpful?

    You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

    • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 17:51.
    • This page has been accessed 31,801 times.