Appledore, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Poor Law Union||Bideford PLU|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
APPLEDORE, a small sea-port town, in the parish of Northam, union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (N.) from Bideford. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Appledore, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|APPLETON PARISH Online Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Appledore on (see in Northam) GENUKI
Appledore on [(Nr Tiverton) - see in Burlescombe] GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 7 January 2015, at 15:56.
- This page has been accessed 1,670 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More