Appleton le Street, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Appleton le Street

Guide to Appleton le Street, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Appleton le Street, Yorkshire
Appleton-le-Street All Saints Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ryedale
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Malton PLU
Registration District Malton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

APPLETON-LE-STREET (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Malton, wapentake of Ryedale, N. riding of York; comprising the townships of Amotherby, Appleton, Broughton, Hildenley, and Swinton; and containing 944 inhabitants, of whom 185 are in the township of Appleton, 3¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Malton. [1]

APPLETON-LE-STREET, a township and a parish in Malton district, N. R. Yorkshire. The parish contains also the townships of Swinton, Broughton, Amotherby, and Hildenley. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
APPLETON LE STREET PARISH (1715) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1715-1901

1715-1890
1715-1812

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

NBI

1780-1837
List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1715.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464235.

Poor Law Unions

Malton Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-1872. Date accessed: 10th January 2014
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 22:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,730 times.