Appling County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Appling County

Guide to Appling County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records


Appling County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Appling County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 15, 1818
County Seat Baxley
Courthouse
Appling County Courthouse dome.jpg
Address Appling County Courthouse
83 South Oak Street
Baxley, Georgia 31513-2097
Phone: 912.367.8100
Appling County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Appling County Courthouse
83 South Oak Street
Baxley, Georgia 31513-2097
Phone: 912.367.8100

Records begin 1879, some 1859; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and burial records. Clerk of Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Beginning Dates for Appling County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1818--Appling County was created 15 December 1818 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat: Baxley [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1876 The courthouse at Baxter burned 7 September 1876. Most county records were lost. Some deed books survived.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities: Baxley | Graham
Town: Surrency

Neighboring Counties

Bacon  • Jeff Davis  • Pierce  • Tattnall  • Toombs  • Wayne


Appling CountyWayne CountyPierce CountyBacon CountyJeff Davis CountyAtkinson CountyWare CountyBrantley CountyGlynn CountyCoffee CountyIrwin CountyBen Hill CountyTelfair CountyDodge CountyLaurens CountyWheeler CountyTreutlen CountyMontgomery CountyToombs CountyEmanuel CountyCandler CountyTattnall  CountyEvans CountyBulloch CountyBryan CountyLiberty CountyLong CountyMcIntosh CountyGAAppling.JPG
About this image


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

  • US Vol. 5
    • page 71 - Carter Family Cemetery, on Baxley and Miles Road
    • page 71 - Hopewell Methodist Cemetery, on Baxley and Miles Road
    • page 72 - Piney Grove Cemetery
    • page 73 - Eason Family Cemetery
    • page 73 - Joyner Family Cemetery
    • page 73 - Wells Family Cemetery
    • page 73 - Youman Cemetery, on Jim Spears Farm (1955)
    • page 74 - Mount Vernon Baptist Church Cemetery

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Appling County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Appling County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appling County, Georgia:


- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company F
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and K
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Appling County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Wills
  • 1877-1927 - Appling County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. 1-2) at SamPubCo - free.
  • 1877-1900 -Digital  Images of Appling County, Georgia Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers
Additional Probate Records
  • 1856-1879 - Appling County, Georgia Estates, Guardianships, Vouchers, etc. at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1866-1879 - Index of Appling County, Georgia Miscellaneous Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1873-1878 - Index of Appling County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1877-1888 - Index of Appling County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1869-1889 - Appling County Marriage Index 1869-1889. Batch M712021 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869-1889 - Appling County Marriage Index 1869-1889. Batch M002544 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1889-1891 - Appling County Marriage Index 1889-1891. Batch M712022 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1889-1907 - Appling County Marriage Index 1889-1907. Batch M002543 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1907-1921 - Appling County Marriage Index 1907-1921. Batch M002540 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1918-1935 - Appling County Marriage Index 1918-1935. Batch M002538 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1918-1952 - Appling County Marriage Index 1918-1952. Batch M002539 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Appling County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Genealogy Trails - free.
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Appling County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Appling County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 11. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 19,418 times.