Arapahoe County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to  Arapahoe County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngArapahoe County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Arapahoe County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Arapahoe County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Littleton
Courthouse
Address Arapahoe County Courthouse
5334 S Prince Street
Littleton, CO 80166-0001
Phone: 303.795.4200
Arapahoe County Website

Contents

County Courthouse and Recorder


First formed in 1855 as Territorial County. See Kansas 1860 for census records.
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1902 burial records to 1941; County Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder's Office
5334 S. Prince St.
Littleton, CO 80120

Ph: 303-795-4520
TDD: 303-738-7890

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1876 *
1860 [2] *
1907 *

1902 [2]
1902 [2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

For early vital records check Colorado State Archives, Historical Records Index

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [3]

To obtain a recent birth certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive  #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Marriage

The Arapahoe County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 303-795-4520 and press 0 to speak to a clerk.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [3]

To obtain a recent death certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Divorce

Arapahoe County is part of the Colorado 18th Judicial District. To contact them for divorce information prior to 1992 or after 2009, call 303-649-6355 or write to Arapahoe Combined Courts at 7325 S. Potomac Street, Centennial CO 80112. In this letter include the names of the parties at the time of the divorce, the approximate year of the divorce, and your phone number. Do not forget to include your phone number! There is a fee for a search ($5 in 2014), and a small fee for each page copied.

For the years 1992 to 2009, the divorce records are in the state archives https://www.colorado.gov/archives/arapahoedivorce . Follow the directions on that site to obtain the record.

County Seat

Littleton [4]

Parent County

Coarapahoe.jpg
1855: Arapahoe County was created as an original county in Kansas Territory.
1 November 1861: Arapahoe County was created as an original county in Colorado Territory.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Repositories

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Arapahoe County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Arapahoe County Civil Docket Book 1867 - 1869
Arapahoe County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Arapahoe County Hospital 1891 - 1899
Arapahoe County Poor Hospital 1895 - 1899
Arapahoe County Probate Cases 1902 - 1937
Arapahoe County Teachers Cards Dist 1 & 6 1953
Arapahoe County Voter Registrations 1893 - 1905

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Arapahoe County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

The Colorado Genealogical Society's 1885 Colorado State Census - Arapahoe County    PDF File with every name indexed. Also available on www.familysearch.org.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Arapahoe County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Arapahoe County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Local History and Biographies

Local histories are available for Arapahoe County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

  • Biographies of Prominent Families of Littleton, Arapahoe, Colorado.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Arapahoe County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poor Records

Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the Arapahoe County Poor Hospital Records for 1895-1899 on-line.

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Colorado State Archives web site has Arapahoe county Probate cases 1902-1959.

Public Records

School Records

Voting Registers

Arapahoe County Voter Registrations index (1893-1905) is one of many On-Line Indexes of the Colorado State Archives.

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries and Museums

Societies





Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county. -

Places


Aurora Established & incorporated in 1891 - Originally called Fletcher, name changed in 1907
Bennett  Established 1870, Incorporated in 1930, mostly in Adams County
Bow Mar Incorporated in 1958
Centennial (created mostly from Southglenn and Castlewood CDPs)
Cherry Hills Village  Incorporated in 1945
Columbine Valley  Incorporated in 1959
Deer Trail  Incorporated in 1920
Englewood  Established and Incorporated in 1903
Foxfield  Incorporated in 1994
Glendale  Incorporated in 1952
Greenwood Village  Incorporated in 1950
Littleton  Established in 1872, Incorporated in 1890
Sheridan  Incorporated in 1891, Also called "Petersburg"


Unicorporated Places
Aetna Estates
Brick Center
Byers Also called “Bijou”
Castlewood (now part of Centennial)
Cherry Creek
Columbine
Comanche Creek
Dove Valley
Holly Hills
Inverness
Peoria
Southglenn (now part of Centennial)
Strasburg
Watkins

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Arapahoe County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 9,738 times.