Archbishop Tenison's Chapel, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Archbishop Tenison's Chapel, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

St George Hanover Square, par., Middlesex, in W. of London, 1119 ac., forms the Hanover Square parl. div. of Westminster.[1]

Regent Street (or, known as Archbishop Tenison's Chapel) or, otherwise known as St Thomas, Regent Street, was built in the year 1702 but surviving registers may only commence from 1853. This chapel lay within the parish boundary of St James Piccadilly, Westminster.

1848 parish descripton St. Thomas is a parish in the Borough of Southwark and in Diocese of Winchester. The patron is St. Thomas’ Hospital.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438837.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Archbishop Tenison's Chapel in St George Hanover Square on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 December 2014, at 15:40.
  • This page has been accessed 3,122 times.