Archer County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties A
Archer County
Guide to Archer County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: Hidden Ancestors who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| | |
| Adopt a page today | |
| __ County, Texas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 22, 1858 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Archer City |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Archer County Courthouse 112 E Walnut PO Box 458 Archer City, TX 76351 Phone: 940.574.4615 Archer County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk Clerk has birth records from 1880, m, d, bur, div, pro, ct & land rec[1]
History
Parent County
1858--Archer County was created 22 January 1858 from Fannin Land District. County seat: Archer City [2]
The county was named for Branch Tanner Archer, commissioner of the Republic of Texas.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Towns: Archer City | Anarene | Holliday | Huff | Lakeside City | Megargel | Olney (mostly in Young County) | Scotland | Wichita Falls (mostly in Wichita County) | Windthorst
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Databases
- Cemeteries of Archer County - Hidden Ancestors
- Bowman Cemetery - transcription A-Z - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Holliday Cemetery - transcription A-Z - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Lake Creek - transcription A-Z - USGenWeb Archives Project
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1880 | 596 | ||
| 1890 | 2,101 | 252.5% | |
| 1900 | 2,508 | 19.4% | |
| 1910 | 6,525 | 160.2% | |
| 1920 | 5,254 | −19.5% | |
| 1930 | 9,684 | 84.3% | |
| 1940 | 7,599 | −21.5% | |
| 1950 | 6,816 | −10.3% | |
| 1960 | 6,110 | −10.4% | |
| 1970 | 5,759 | −5.7% | |
| 1980 | 7,266 | 26.2% | |
| 1990 | 7,973 | 9.7% | |
| 2000 | 8,854 | 11.0% | |
| 2010 | 9,054 | 2.3% | |
1900 Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Archer County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Local histories are available for Archer County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Local histories are available for Archer County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Archer County
- Historical Markers of Archer County - list with images
- Archer County Surnames - Hidden Ancestors
Maps
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Archer County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Archer County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Newspapers
Archer County News
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries
- Archer County Obituaries - transcriptions
- Archer County Obituaries - transcriptions
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Archer County Marriage Records - transcriptions - Hidden Ancestors
- Archer County Marriages - Book 1 - transcriptions
- Archer County Marriages - Book 2 - transcriptions
- Archer County Marriages - Book 3 - transcriptions
Societies and Libraries
- TXGenWeb Archer County
- Texas State Genealogical Society
- Archer Public Library
- Archer City Public Library
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List - Resources for state and counties.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Archer County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 April 2013, at 00:54.
- This page has been accessed 1,575 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
