Ardee Civil Parish, County LouthEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Louth Gotoarrow.png County Louth Parishes Gotoarrow.png Ardee Civil Parish, County Louth

The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of Ardee. The information is based on locations and records before the Irish Civil War in 1922.

Contents

Historical Overview

History

• Brief statement about historical background
• Add relevant Web site link

Localities

• Names of townlands
• Names of the surrounding parishes
• Name/description of district, poor law union, etc.
• Other

Maps and gazetteers

• Add web site link to maps/gazetteers
• Add printed sources

Records

Cemeteries

Irish Genealogists 3(1) (1956): 36-40.

Census

• General statement with link to [1901-1911] Ireland Census Records article
• Statement about using substitutes, such as tax and land, in place of missing national censuses
• Notes about specific censuses for the parish, such as pre-1901 fragments
• Add subheading for census substitutes with related material

Church records

Catholic

Note that some of the Catholic parish registers of this county have been indexed by Meath Heritage Centre and by the Armagh Ancestry.  A search of the index will be conducted by these centers for a fee.  Those indexed by Armagh Ancestry are indicated as "Indexed by AA."  Microfilm copies of all registers are also available in the National Library of Irleand (NKI), and through the LDS library system. 

Parish: Ardee: Diocese: Armagh. Earliest records: birth/born 4.1763; marriage/married 1763; death/died 7.1765

Missing Dates: birth/born 10.1810-4.1821; marriage/married 10.1810-4.1821 ends 2.1826; death/died 10.1810-3.1821, ends 2.1825

Status: Records held by local church; National Library of Ireland (microfilm); Indexed by Armagh Ancestry (birth/marriages to 1900; death 1810-1821)

Church of Ireland

Many of the Church of Ireland records were lost in the Public Records Office fire of 1922.  These are indicated as 'Lost".  However as Church of Ireland records were effectively state records, the records of marriage (from 1845) are also in the General Registrar's Office.  Many are still in local custody while others are in one of a variety of other archives, Representative Church Body Library or National Archives of Ireland.

Parish Ardee: Earliest records: birth/born 1735-;  marriage/married 1744-; death/died 1732-   .

Missing records: 1753-1798

Status: Records are held by the local church  Representative Church Body Library (microfilm) born/birth 1799-1868; marriages/married 1802-49; death/died 1801-1981

Civil Registration

General statement with link to Ireland Civil Registration article

Land records

General statement about Registry of Deeds with link to Ireland Land and Property article

Probate records

General statement and link to the Ireland Probate Records article

School records

• Records available in the FHL
• General statement with link to Ireland Schools article

Tax records


• Griffiths – standard statement linking to Ireland Land and Property article or Taxation?
• Tithe Applotment – standard statement linking to Ireland Land and Property article or Taxation?

Web sites

 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2013, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,934 times.