Ardsley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Ardsley

Guide to Ardsley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ardsley, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barnsley PLU
Registration District Barnsley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

ARDSLEY, a township and chapelry, in Darfield parish, wapentake of Staincross, West riding Yorkshire, 2 miles (E. by S.) from Barnsley; containing 1226 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Darfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
ARDSLEY CHAPELRY (1694) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1839-1900
1694-1900

FS None 1694-1900 None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ardsley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Darfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Darfield page.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464274.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,289 times.