Ardwick St Thomas, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ardwick St Thomas, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ardwick St Thomas, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1876
Bishop's Transcripts: 1752
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ARDWICK, a township, forming two ecclesiastical districts, in the parish and borough of Manchester, union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1 mile (S. E. by E.) from Manchester. For ecclesiastical purposes the township is divided into two districts, the Manchester and Birmingham railway being the line of separation: this railway is here joined by the Manchester and Sheffield line. St. Thomas church has been twice enlarged viz. in 1831 and 1836, the building being lengthened at each end, and a tower erected in a campanile form: the interior is neat. St. Silas church was built in 1841 in the Norman style, with a tower and spire. The Wesleyans and Independents have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ardwick St Thomas, Lancashire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][2]
Ardwick St Thomas, Lancashire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1740-1812 1740-1812 1740-1812 1740-1812 1740-1812 1740-1812
AC 1813-1914 1813-1914 1837-1930 1837-1930 1813-1854 1813-1854
Ardwick St Benedict Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1880-1914 1880-1914 1754-1930 1754-1930
Ardwick St Jerome Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1913-1914 1913-1914 1914-1930 1914-1930
Ardwick St Matthew Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1865-1914 1865-1914 1869-1930 1869-1930
Ardwick St Silas Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1842-1914 1842-1914 1856-1930 1856-1930

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438730.

Poor Law Unions

Chorlton Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ardwick on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.
  2. 'Manchester, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1541-1812', Ancestry, accessed 25 August 2014.
  3. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 14:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,643 times.