Arenac County, MichiganEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Arenac County

Guide to Arenac County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Michigan
Online Records


Arenac County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 21, 1883
County Seat Hettinger
Courthouse
Address Arenac County Courthouse
120 N Grove St.
P. O. Box 747
Standish, MI 48658
Phone: 989-846-4626
Arenac County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce
and court records from 1883 and burial records from 1952. [1]

History

Parent County

1883--Arenac County was created 21 April 1883 from Bay County. County seat: Standish [2]

Boundary Changes

See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities: Au Gres . Omer . Standish

Villages: Sterling . Turner . Twining

Townships: Adams . Arenac . Au Gres . Clayton . Deep River . Lincoln . Mason . Moffatt . Sims . Standish . Turner . Whitney

Communities: Alger . Delano . Maple Ridge . Melita . Pine River

Neighboring Counties

Bay  • Gladwin  • Iosco  • Ogemaw

Alcona CountyOscoda CountyIosco CountyCrawford CountyClare CountyGladwin CountyIsabella CountyMidland CountyTuscola CountyHuron CountySanilac CountyBay CountyRoscommon CountyOgemaw CountyArenac CountyMIArenac.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

1870 - Arenac County did not exist in 1870, but was part of Bay Co.


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Families

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Arenac County, Michigan. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Books available at the Library of Michigan (Lansing) regarding Arenac Co.


Maps

Miarenac.jpg 1895 Atlas

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Arenac County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Arenac County.

World War I - Draft Cards

http://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww1/draft-registration/michigan.html

Newspapers


The Saginaw News[1]

Probate

In most counties in MIchigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for MIchigan - Arenac - Probate records.

Queries: Message Boards and Mailing Lists

Taxation

Vital Records

State vital records started in 1867, however marriage records started at the county level earlier. Check both.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

See also How to order Michigan Vital Records

  • Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
  • Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
  • Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
  • Pre-1897 (not complete) http://www.mdch.state.mi.us/pha/osr/gendisx/search2.htm
  • State death records - http://seekingmichigan.org/tag/genealogy


Societies and Libraries

Arenac County Historical Society

State wide or ethnic groups

AFRICAN-AMERICAN

Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society

c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

http://familytreemaker.genealogy.com/users/p/h/i/Bennie-L-Phifer-iii/
Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 22203
Lansing MI 48909-2203
http://www.laaags.org/
Publication is Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

CORNISH

Keweenaw Houghton Cornish Society of the Copper Country
http://keweenawkernewek.org
Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan
8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing 48433

DUTCH

http://jointarchives.org/

FINNISH

Finnish American Heritage Center

http://www.finlandia.edu/FAHC.html

FLEMISH

Genealogical Society of Flemish Americans

https://www.facebook.com/FlemishLibrary?fref=ts

FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

French-Canadian Heritage Society of Michigan

Post Office Box 1900
Royal Oak MI 48068-1900
Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly
Located in Oakland County

MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

http://fchsm.org/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/109717099063919/

IRISH

Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan

c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit MI 48216-1303
Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Irish-Genealogical-Society-of-Michigan/236855006444065?fref=ts

Wayne County Irish Society

31975 Cowan
Westland 48185

ITALIAN

Americans Of Italian Origin Society

18336 Lister E.
Detroit 48021

JEWISH

Jewish Genealogical Society of Michigan

PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield MI 48325-1693
Publication is Generations published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

http://jgsmi.org/

https://www.facebook.com/jgsmi

POLISH

Polish Genealogical Society of Michigan

c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

http://www.pgsm.org/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/84920869072

Polish Heritage Society

P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids 49501

SCOTTISH

The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit

2360 Rochester Ct
Troy Mi 48083
Phone:(248) 526-1849
Fax:(248) 528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com

Family History Centers


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Arenac County, Michigan page 343, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 11,540 times.