Argentina National Census, 1869 (FamilySearch Historical Records)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: Argentina National Census, 1869 .
Title in the Language of the Record
Argentina, Censo de 1869
These records are in Spanish. This Collection will include records for 1869.
The census enumerations were recorded in registers with legal size papers in landscape orientation. Each book (libreto) is separated by a title page, which includes the name of the province, the section, and the type of population covered. It is followed by the enumeration sheets containing surname and names of the inhabitants, age, gender, civil status, nationality, place of birth, occupation, literacy, and special conditions. At the end of each book is a global summary page of the register.
The First National Census of the Argentine Republic was executed in the whole country simultaneously in three days, September 15-17 of 1869, under the presidency of the nation’s then president Mr. Domingo F. Sarmiento. For the census, the country was divided into five areas: North, South, East, West, and the National Territories. Each area was divided into provinces, which were then divided into sections or districts (partidos); in some cases the barracks are also mentioned. The city of Buenos Aires was the only one divided into police sections (secciones de policía).
These census enumeration registers were well preserved. It was created for demographic and statistical purposes in relation to the growth of the nation.
This census covers about 1,800,000 inhabitants, but these records contain inaccuracies and should only be used when civil or church records are not available. The officials that wrote the census were ordinary civilians. Some were careless in spelling and wrote down phonetic versions of what they heard, so it is important to search for different spellings of your ancestors' names. The people were not required to provide proof for the information given (such as birth date and place), therefore some information may have been given from memory and may be wrong.
The original records can still be found at the Archivo General de la Nación in Buenos Aires.
For a list of localities currently published in this collection, select the Browse link from the collection landing page.
Information found in the 1869 census records may include:
- Name, age, gender, marital status and nationality
- Birth place (Province if Argentine)
- Statistical summary of the special conditions, such as legitimacy, race, disabilities, students, and others
How to Use the Record
To search this collection using the index:
Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to find your ancestor.
To browse this collection you will need to follow this series of links:
⇒Select the "Browse" link in the initial search page
⇒Select the "Province" category
⇒Select the "Department" category
⇒Select the "Town, District, or Section" category which takes you to the images.
Look at the images one by one comparing the information with what you already know about your ancestors to determine which one is your ancestor. You may need to compare the information about more than one person to make this determination. Keep in mind:
- There may be more than one person in the records with the same name.
- You may not be sure of your own ancestor’s name.
- Your ancestor may have used different names or variations of their name throughout their life.
For Help Reading These Records
These records are in Spanish. For help reading the records, see the following wiki articles:
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to email@example.com. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
- The 1872 publication of the 1869 census, from Google books (in Spanish)
- Listing of Scots in the 1869 census from the localities of Chascomus, Entre Rios, and Cordoba-Union
- Argentina and its provinces in the early 21st century
- Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay in 1869
- Argentina in 1873
- South America in 1869
- Wikipedia's history of Argentina
- History of Argentina, from The Argentina Independent
- The Argentine Republic, from Google books (in English), published in 1876
- Argentina: Legend and History, from Google books (in Spanish), published in 1919
Other Genealogical Resources
- Argentina Genealogy Links
- Research for Scottish families in Argentina
- Research on British settlers in Argentina and Uruguay
- Research on British families in Southern Patagonia
- Research on British families in South America
Related Wiki Articles
Contributions to This Article
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. Guidelines are available to help you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide. If you would like to get more involved join the WikiProject FamilySearch Records.|
Citing FamilySearch Historical Collections
Citations for individual image records are available for this collection. Browse through images in this collection and click on the "Show Citation" box: Argentina, National Census, 1869
When you copy information from a record, you should list where you found the information. This will help you or others to find the record again. It is also good to keep track of records where you did not find information, including the names of the people you looked for in the records.
A suggested format for keeping track of records that you have searched is found in the wiki article Help:How to Cite FamilySearch Collections.
Citation for This Collection
The following citation refers to the original source of the information published in FamilySearch.org Historical Records collections. Sources include the author, custodian, publisher, and archive for the original records.
- "Argentina National Census, 1869 ." Index and Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2013. Citing Comisión Directiva del Censo. Archivo General de la Nación, Buenos Aires.
- This page was last modified on 18 December 2013, at 19:22.
- This page has been accessed 13,444 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More