Arizona GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Arizona
Guide to Arizona ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Welcome to Arizona,
the Grand Canyon State
|How to Find Information about Arizona Ancestors|
- La Paz
- Santa Cruz
- Other counties which might have records for Arizona residents
- Castle Dome AZ · Doña Ana AZ · Ewell AZ · Lincoln NV ·
Mesilla AZ · Nye NV · Pah-Ute AZ · Rio Virgin UT
- Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona shows when counties were created, maps, and where their records are now located.
- See also Arizona County Creation Dates and Parent Counties
Colorado River · Little Colorado River · Gila River · Beale Wagon Road · Butterfield Overland Mail · Honeymoon Trail · Juan Bautista de Anza Trail · Old Spanish Trail · Route 66 · Atlantic and Pacific Railroad · Santa Fe Railway · Southern Pacific Railroad · Texas and Pacific Railway
Did You Know?
- There are 21 Indian reservations in Arizona.
- Explored 1540; few setters until 1840.
- Early records in Spain, Mexico, New Mexico.
- U.S. territory after Mexican War 1846-1848.
- 1853 Gadsden Purchase added land south of the Gila River for Butterfield Overland Mail and Southern Pacific Railroad routes.
- Gretna Greens. When an eloping Arizona couple's marriage is not in their home county, search for it in alternate places like Las Vegas, Clark, Nevada, or Yuma, Yuma, Arizona.
- Prison Records. Arizona Department of Corrections has a searchable online database of 100 years of Inmate Admissions (1872 - 1972).
- Arizona Births and Christening (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Arizona Deaths (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Arizona Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Arizona Mariages, (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Arizona, Maricopa County Probate Case Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Arizona Service Records of Confederate Soldiers of the Civil War (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
- Arizona Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- How to order Arizona Vital Records
- Researching Arizona Census Records
- State of Arizona County & City Government Court links
- Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Arizona Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Arizona Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of Arizona Counties
- American Revolutionary War (1775-1783)
- The American Civil War
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- Research in Arizona Military Records
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
Help with the Arizona Wiki pages
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:
- Expand county articles
- Check links on pages
- ...and more
- ↑ Arlene H. Eakle, "Have you searched and searched for a marriage without finding it?" in Genealogy Blog at http://www.arleneeakle.com/wordpress/2007/02/19/have-you-searched-and-searched-for-the-marriage-without-finding-it/ (accessed 8 January 2011).
- This page was last modified on 9 July 2015, at 22:21.
- This page has been accessed 66,375 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News