Arizona CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Arizona  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Arizona indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Arizona 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1831-1870

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Arizona 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7] 1870 indexes Link - Link Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1867 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1866 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1864 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1862 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1860[8] indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - - NM
Link
NM
Link
NM
Link
NM
Link
- Link
1831 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm Images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 1870
1930 1900 and Soundex 1864
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1860
Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 1870 M593
1930 T626 1900 T623and Soundex T1032
1920 T625 and Soundex M1549 1880 T9 and Soundex T735

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Arizona, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Arizona

Free Free at Some Libraries(usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Family History Library Microfilm
Bureau Indian Affairs, census, 1932-1937 Havasupai census rolls, 1905-1933
Hopi Reservation census rolls, 1924-1939 Fort Apache census rolls, 1898-1939
Navajo Census, Leupp Agency 1915-1929 Hualapai census rolls, 1896-1898
Camp Verde census rolls, 1915-1927 Fort Mojave census rolls, 1892-1915
Kaibab Paiute census rolls, 1910-1911 Colorado River census rolls, 1885-1940
Camp McDowell census rolls, 1905-1912 Mortality Schedules 1870-1880
Fort Yuma census rolls, 1905-1935

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Arizona, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Arizona took many censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1911 Coconino County[9]
  • 1910 Coconino County[9]
  • 1908 Coconino County[9]
  • 1906 Coconino County[9]
  • 1902 Coconino County[9]
  • 1894 Coconino County[9]
  • 1882 Counties: Apache, Cochise, Gila, Graham, Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Pinal, and Yuma[9][10]
  • 1880 Counties: Apache, and Mohave[9]
  • 1876 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma[9][10]
  • 1874 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma[9]
  • 1872 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma[9][10]
  • 1869 Yavapai County[9]
  • 1867 Counties: Mohave, Pima, and Yuma[9][11]
  • 1866 Counties: Mohave, Pah Ute, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma[9][10][11]
  • 1864 Territorial (population 4,187)[10][11][12]
  • 1862 Territorial[11]
  • 1852 Southern pre-territorial Arizona[13]
  • 1831 Counties: Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and part of Sonora, Mexico[11][14]
  • 1801 Southern pre-territorial Arizona[15]
  • 1796 Santa Cruz County (Tumacacori)[16]

1864, 1866, 1867, 1869, 1871, 1872, and 1882 Territorial censuses--Territorial censuses are available at the Department of Libraries, Archives and Public Records, although they are not all complete. The Family History Library has indexes for 1864, 1866, 1867, and 1869.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Arizona censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In 1860 people living in what is now Arizona were enumerated in Arizona County, part of the New Mexico Territory census.
  9. 9.00 9.01 9.02 9.03 9.04 9.05 9.06 9.07 9.08 9.09 9.10 9.11 9.12 9.13 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 17-18.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 Emily Anne Croom, The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook (Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 1994)[FHL REF Book 929.1 C882g], 39.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 Ancestry.com "Arizona Census, 1831-80" at http://www.ancestryinstitution.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3533 (accessed 15 December 2009).
  12. Ancestry.com. Arizona Territory Census, 1864 [database on-line] at http://www.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3121 (accessed 14 December 2009), citing original data: Historical Records Survey, Works Progress Administration. Census of Arizona Territory, April 1864. Phoenix, AZ, USA: n.p., 1938
  13. Eugene L. Sierras, Mexican Census Pre-Territorial : Pimeria Alta, 1852 (Tucson, Arizona : Arizona State Genealogical Society, 1986)[FHL Book 979.1 X2se 1852]. Pimeria Alta was an area of land in southern pre-territorial Arizona. The census was conducted in 1852 in the district of Altar, Sonora.
  14. Instituto Genealógico e Histórico Latinoamericano, Index to the 1831 Census of Arizona and Sonora (Highland, Utah: [Instituto], 1983)[FHL Book 979.1 A1 no. 87; Film 697282 Item 7]. The census includes Tucson, Tubac and Santa Cruz, as well as parts of Sonora, Mexico.
  15. Eugene L. Sierras, and Kieran McCarty, Mexican Census Pre-Territorial : Pimeria Alta, 1801 (Tucson, Arizona : Arizona State Genealogical Society, 1986)[FHL Book 979.1 X2s 1801]. Pimeria Alta was an area of land in southern pre-territorial Arizona.
  16. Alfred F. Whiting, "The Tumacacori Census of 1796" in the Kiva, 19, no. 1, Fall, 1953. [FHL Film 874325 Item 5].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2013, at 16:31.
  • This page has been accessed 12,436 times.