Arkansas CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Arkansas
Census
|
| |||||||
Online Arkansas indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Arkansas | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1870 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1860 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1850 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1840 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1830 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm Images
| 1940 N/A | 1910 and Soundex | 1870 | 1840 |
| 1930 | 1900 and Soundex | 1860 | 1830 |
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex | 1850 |
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 and Soundex T1260 | 1870 M593 | 1840 |
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 and Soundex T1034 | 1860 M653 | 1830 |
| 1920 T625 and Soundex M1550 | 1880 T9 and Soundex T736 | 1850 M432 |
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Arkansas, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Arkansas | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Census Bureau | Google Book | Heritage Quest | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||
| 1880 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1870 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1860 | Slave owner | - | - | - | Link[8] | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1860 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1850 | Slave owner | Link | - | - | Link[8] | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1850 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1840 | Pensioners | Link | BookLink | BookLink | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
Microfilm images
Family History LibraryFederal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Arkansas
- 1911 Arkansas census of Confederate veterans FHL book 976.7 X2m, 3 vols. and FHL fiche 6019335
- 1850 - 1880 Arkansas mortality schedules, production of agriculture schedules and manufacturer's schedule FHL films 1549729-33.
National ArchivesFederal Census Non-Population ScheduleMicrofilms for Arkansas
- 1935 Census of Business
- 1820 - 1880 Census of Manufactures
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Arkansas, click here.
State, territorial, and colonial censuses
Censuses were taken in Arkansas in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.
| 1911 Arkansas Confederate veterans: 44 counties survive.[9][10] |
| 1865 Washington County only.[9] |
| 1829 Sherriff's census missing counties: Hempstead, Izard, Lafayette, Phillips, Pope, Pulaski, and Sevier.[9] |
| 1823 Sherriff's census Arkansas county only.[9] |
| 1798 Post of Arkansas[11] |
| 1796 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1794 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1793 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1791 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1777 Post and Arkansas Indian Nation.[11] |
| 1770 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1768 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1766 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1749 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1726 Post of Arkansas.[11] |
| 1723 Sotehouy.[11] |
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Arkansas censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 19-20.
- ↑ Bobbie J. McLane, and Capitola Glazner, Arkansas 1911 Census of Confederate Veterans 3 v. ([S.l. : s.n.], 1977-1981)[FHL Book 976.7 X2m; Fiche 6019335], and Bobbie Jones McLane, An Index to the Three Volumes, Arkansas 1911 Census of Confederate Veterans (Hot Springs, Arkansas : Arkansas Ancestors, 1988)[FHL Book 976.7 X2m index].
- ↑ 11.00 11.01 11.02 11.03 11.04 11.05 11.06 11.07 11.08 11.09 11.10 11.11 Morris S. Arnold, and Dorothy Jones Core, Arkansas Colonials: A Collection of French and Spanish Records Listing Early Europeans in the Arkansas 1686-1804 (DeWitt, Ark.: DeWitt Pub., 1986.)[FHL Book 976.7 H2a].
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 June 2012, at 22:09.
- This page has been accessed 8,421 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More