Arkansas County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a county in eastern Arkansas. For other uses, see Arkansas (disambiguation).

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Arkansas County

Guide to Arkansas County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Arkansas County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Arkansas County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1813
County Seat [[De Witt, Arkansas|De Witt]]
Courthouse
Address Arkansas County Courthouse
101 Court Square
DeWitt, AR 72042
Phone: 870.946.4349

Contents

County Courthouse

Arkansas County Courthouse
101 Court Square
DeWitt, AR 72042
Phone: 870.946.4349

Government and Related Websites

Johnson County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

County Clerk has probate records from 1809
and marriage records from 1838; Clerk Circuit
Court has land records, divorce and court records
from 1803 and military discharge records from 1917.[1]

Beginning years for Arkansas County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1839 1914* 1819 1808 1809
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

1813--Arkansas County was created 31 December 1813. County seat: DeWitt. [3] Its existence predates the state of Akansas which was admitted to the union in 1836. Arkansas County was created from New Madrid County, Missouri Territory. Arkansas County was part of the Missouri Territory from 1813 to 1819 and part of the Arkansas Territory from 1819 to 1836.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Desha  • Jefferson  • Lincoln  • Lonoke  • Monroe  • Phillips  • Prairie

Arkansas CountyDesha CountyLincoln CountyDrew CountyJefferson CountyLonoke CountyPrairie CountyMonroe CountyPhillips CountyLee CountySt. Francis CountyWoodruff CountyPulaski CountyCleveland CountyBradley CountyARArkansas (2).jpg


__NORICHEDITOR__

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Arkansas County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Arkansas County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

1810 and 1820 are missing.

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Halli Burton, W. H.. A topographical description and history of Arkansas County, Arkansas from 1541 to 1875. unknown: unknown, 1903.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture

  • Arkansas was home to Native Americans long before Europeans arrived
  • 1541 - The first encounters between Europeans and Indians living in what is now Arkansas.
  • 1541-1543 - Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto traveled the Mississippi River .
  • 1686 - Henri de Tonti established Arkansas Post at the Quapaw village of Osotouy. It was the first semipermanent French settlement in the lower Mississippi River Valley and the first step in a long struggle between France, Spain, and England over the interior of North America.
  • 1813 - December 13 - Arkansas County was created and comprised about two-thirds of what is now Arkansas and part of eastern Oklahoma. More than half the state’s counties were formed from this original county.
  • 1824 - the dwindling remnant of Quapaw Indians at last yielded their lands for $4,000 and an annuity of $1,000 a year for the next eleven years. Thus, a good deal of what is now fine cotton land changed hands at a figure estimated at one dollar per 1,000 acres.
  • 1862 - June 17 - Civil War naval and land battle that disabled the Union USS Mound City was located at St. Charles.
  • After the war, towns and villages sprang up across the prairie. The people who settled here were largely of German origin, including some who came directly from Prussia, some who came by way of Illinois, and some whose ancestors had lived in Russia..

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Arkansas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Arkansas County.

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H and Company K
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) , Company E
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- 13th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and F
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Arkansas County:

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Arkansas County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Arkansas Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes newspapers for Arkansas County.

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1819-1924 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration accounts 1826-1839 and 1863; Administration executor and guardian dockets 1867-1902; Dockets 1849-1880; Guardian bonds and letters 1876-1911; Probate records 1819-1906; Wills, miscellaneous probate records 1888-1924.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

SEE ALSO How to Find Arkansas Birth Records

Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Arkansas County, Arkansas Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Genealogy Societies

Family History Centers

Libraries

Local public libraries—even smaller ones—often have Unique Genealogical Collections that are not online for the area they serve. Many libraries in Washington have an area dedicated to local history and genealogy.


Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Arkansas County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Arkansas County, Arkansas
ARGenWeb Arkansas County Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Arkansas County Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
resources at RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Arkansas County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Arkansas County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Arkansas County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Arkansas County Message Board. (Because state and county have the same name, this may include all of Arkansas)

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 April 2012).
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 December 2014, at 21:28.
  • This page has been accessed 20,255 times.