Arkengarthdale, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Arkengarthdale

Guide to Arkengarthdale, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arkengarthdale, Yorkshire
Arkengarthdale St Mary the Virgin Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Reeth PLU
Registration District Reeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1726
Bishop's Transcripts: 1770
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Arkengarthdale with New Forest and Hope; Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARKENGARTH-DALE, otherwise Arkendale (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 12 miles (W. by N.) from Richmond; containing 1243 inhabitants. At nearby Langthwaite are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Arkengarthdale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
ARKENGARTHDALE PARISH (1754) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1659-1861 1659-1861 1727-1909 1727-1909 1722-1879 1722-1879
FREG 1660-1861 1754-1875
FS 1771-1861

1754-1875

1771-1848

JOIN None
1813-1837

None
NBI

1722, 1726-1867

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1560.

See GENUKI for location of Parish records from 1727.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Reeth Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 69-73. Date accessed: 7 January 2014.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,797 times.