Arkholme, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Arkholme, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arkholme, Lancashire
Arkholme St John the Baptist.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ARKHOLME, with Cawood, a chapelry, in the parish of Melling, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 10 miles (N. E.) from Lancaster. The church is an ancient plain structure, with a belltower.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Arkholme chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Melling to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ARKHOLME with CAWOOD ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1676) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1828-1864 None None
LOPC None None  None
AC 1742-1789 1742-1789 1742-1789
LBMD None 1864-2005 1837-1922
MELLING ST WILFRID PARISH (1622) Indexes (ancient parish containing ARKHOLME)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1720-1902 1752-1935 1836-1861
LOPC None 1754-1920 1786-1812
FMP  None 1636-1837 - part. None
LBMD None 1837-1982 None 
AC 1625-1752 1625-1752 1625-1752


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Arkholme and comprising the whole ancient parish of Melling to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MELLING PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Arkholme. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692. Includes Cawood.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Arkholme on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 14:45.
  • This page has been accessed 6,133 times.