Arlington, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Arlington, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arlington, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherwill
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1848 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter; Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Contents

Parish History

ARLINGTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Sherwill, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 6¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Barnstaple.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

Arlington, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
ARLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1597-1638

FMP 1813-1839 1813-1839
FREG 1686-1990 1675-1839 1641-1991
IARC 1597-1641 1597-1641 1597-1641
IARC 1630-1632 1630-1632 1630-1632
IGI 1640-1849 1671-1850

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-73. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  4. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,209 times.