Arlington County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Arlington County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.

United States go to Virginia go to Arlington County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Virginia
Online Records
Arlington County, Virginia
Map
Boundary map of Arlington County, Virginia
Map of Virginia highlighting Arlington County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 13, 1847
County Seat Arlington
Courthouse

Contents

Arlington County Virginia Courthouse

Arlington County Courthouse
 

Arlington County Courthouse
1425 North Courthouse Road
Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703-228-7010

Formerly Alexandria County -
Clerk Circuit Court has birth, marriage, death, land and court records [1]


Beginning Dates for Arlington County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1801 1853 1850 1801 1800

Arlington County Virginia History

[[Image:1st_Earl_of_Arlington.JPG|thumb|right|200px|Henry Bennet, 1st Earl of Arlington (1618-1685)

[[]]

Known as Alexandria County until 1920, when it was renamed Arlington County. The county was named after Henry Bennet, 1st Earl of Arlington (1618-1685), an English statesman.[2]

Parent County

1847--Arlington County was created 13 March 1847 from Fairfax County. County seat: Arlington [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Arlington County Virginia Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Arlington County, Virginia cohabitation records are available online. (see Alexandria County)

  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Cole, Ennis, Fletcher, Handless, Lucas, McIntosh, Nichols, Shorter, Thomas, Valentine, Webster families of pre-1820 Arlington County, Virginia.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Arlington County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Arlington County: [4]

  • Arlington National Cemetery
  • Ball Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Ball-Carlin Family Graveyard
  • Basil Halls Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Berry-Whitehead Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Birch Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Birch-Campbell Graveyard
  • Birch-Payne Family Graveyard
  • Calloway Cemetery
  • Columbia Gardens Cemetery
  • Corbett Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Custis Burying Ground
  • Deuterman Family Graveyard
  • Donaldson Family Graveyard
  • Donaldson Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Harrison Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Hicks Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Lomax Cemetery
  • Marcey Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Mary Randolph Grave
  • Mills Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Minor Family Cemetery (historical)
  • Mount Olivet Cemetery
  • Pelham Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Phillips Family Graveyard
  • Saint Charles School Cemetery
  • Shelley Graveyard (historical)
  • Southern-Shreve Family Graveyard
  • Syphax Family Graveyard
  • Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
  • Walker Chapel Cemetery
  • Winslow-Whiting-Wilson Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Wunder Family Graveyard (historical)
  • Decker, K. and Angus McSween. Historic Arlington: A History of the National Cemetery from Its Establishment to the Present Time, with Sketches of the Historic Personages Who Occupied the Estate Previous to Its Seizure by the National Government... Decker and McSween Pub. Co., 1892. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Smith, F.H. Memorial Ceremonies at the National Cemetery, Arlington, Virginia, Under the Auspices of the Grand Army of the Republic, May 30, 1868. Washington, D.C.: McGill & Witherow, Printers and Stereotypers, 1868. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
  • Tombstone Transcription Project Arlington County (including Arlington National Cemetery) - transcriptions and photos -  USGenWeb

Census

For tips on accessing Arlington County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 5,949
1810 8,552 43.8%
1820 9,703 13.5%
1830 9,573 −1.3%
1840 9,967 4.1%
1850 10,008 0.4%
1860 12,652 26.4%
1870 16,755 32.4%
1880 17,546 4.7%
1890 18,597 6.0%
1900 6,430 −65.4%
1910 10,231 59.1%
1920 16,040 56.8%
1930 26,615 65.9%
1940 57,040 114.3%
1950 135,449 137.5%
1960 163,401 20.6%
1970 174,284 6.7%
1980 152,599 −12.4%
1990 170,936 12.0%
2000 189,453 10.8%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

Church Records

Church of England
  • The Truro Parish Colonial Vestry Book (1732-1785) and the proceedings of the Overseers of the Poor (1787-1802). Digitized images available online at Truro Parish Colonial Vestry Minutes.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Arlington

Court

Indexed images of Arlington County, Virginia Chancery Records 1790-1842 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[5]

Genealogy

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Arlington County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Arlington County, Virginia:

- 17th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Alexandria Riflemen), Company E (Mount Vernon Guards), Company G (Emmett Guards), Company H (Old Dominion Rifles), Company I (O'Connell Guards), and Company K (Warrenton Rifles).[6]

Newspapers

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Arlington County, Virginia newspapers.

Probate Records

Taxation

How can Virginia tax lists help me? 

  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL 975 E4w v. 4. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Alexandria County is included in Vol. 4.]
  • [1829] A List of Tithables for the Town Part of the County of Alexandria, 1829. Original records, Arlington County Courthouse in Arlington, Virginia; FHL copy: FHL 1902939 Item 4.

Vital Records

Indexes to Arlington County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1853-1896 - Arlington County Birth Index 1853-1896. Batch C868476 at FamilySearch - free.
Marriage
  • 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
  • 1850-1881 - Arlington County Marriage Index 1850-1881. Batch M868475 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1853-1879 - Arlington County Marriage Index 1853-1879. Batch M868476 at FamilySearch - free.
Death
  • 1853-1896 - Arlington County Death Index 1853-1896. Batch B868476 at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes

Arlington County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Arlington County Virginia Genealogy Websites

Arlington County Virginia Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Arlington County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia Contributors, "Arlington County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arlington_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. USGS Map, Trails.com
  5. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  6. Lee A. Wallace, 17th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 67.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:19.
  • This page has been accessed 42,532 times.