Armitage, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Armitage, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Armitage, Staffordshire
Armitage St John the Baptist Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish records: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hansacre and Armitage
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARMITAGE (St. John), with Handsacre, a parish, in the union of Lichfield, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles(E. S. E.) from Rugeley. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Armitage parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
ARMITAGE PARISH (1623) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1623-1862
1623-1840

NBI

1623-1837

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire FreeReg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
  INDEPENDENT CHAPEL (1821) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1821-1837




Cemetery Records

The following MIs were kindly contributed by Alf Beard:

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474614.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 March 2014.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,079 times.