Armstrong County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- This article is about a north Texas county. For other uses, see Armstrong.
United States
Texas
Counties A
Armstrong County
Guide to Armstrong County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: Hidden Ancestors who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| | |
| Adopt a page today | |
| Armstrong County, Texas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 21, 1876 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Claude |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Armstrong County Courthouse PO Box 309 Claude, TX 79019 Phone: 806.226.2081 Armstrong County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,marriage and probate records from 1890, court records from 1898 and land
records from 1883; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records[1]
History
Parent County
1876--Armstrong County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District and organized in 1890. County seat: Claude [2]
Tradition states the county was named for an early pioneer family.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Claude | Goodnight | Washburn | Wayside
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| |
||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| Billion Graves | |
|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Databases
- Washburn Cemetery - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Goodnight Cemetery - Interment.net
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1880 | 31 | ||
| 1890 | 944 | 2,945.2% | |
| 1900 | 1,205 | 27.6% | |
| 1910 | 2,682 | 122.6% | |
| 1920 | 2,816 | 5.0% | |
| 1930 | 3,329 | 18.2% | |
| 1940 | 2,495 | −25.1% | |
| 1950 | 2,215 | −11.2% | |
| 1960 | 1,966 | −11.2% | |
| 1970 | 1,895 | −3.6% | |
| 1980 | 1,994 | 5.2% | |
| 1990 | 2,021 | 1.4% | |
| 2000 | 2,148 | 6.3% | |
| 2010 | 1,901 | −11.5% | |
1880 Federal Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Armstrong County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Claude High School 1926 Yearbook - USGenWeb Archives Project
- National Historic Landmarks - Armstrong Texas - Wikipedia
- A Collection of Memories: A History of Armstrong County, 1876-1965, by the Armstront County Historical Society, an historical overview of Armstrong County, Texas discussing the ranches, families, and individuals important to the area. Read the book online from The Portal To Texas History.
- A Supplement To A Collection of Memories: A History of Armstrong County, 1876-1965, additional biographical and genealogical information. Read it online from The Portal to Texas History.
Maps
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- 1895 Armstrong County Map
- 1914 Armstrong County Map
Military
Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Armstrong County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Armstrong County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County Newspapers
- The Claude News
119 N. Trice
P.O. Box 778
Claude, TX 79019
ph: 806-226-4500
fax: 806-222-0023
- Armstrong County Record (no longer in print)
- Argus (original name of Claude News)
- Goodnight News (merged with Claude News)
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Armstrong County - USGenWeb Archives Project
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Armstrong County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 April 2013, at 00:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,487 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
