Aroostook County, MaineEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Maine
Aroostook County
Guide to Aroostook County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Aroostook County, Maine | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Maine | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 16, 1839 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Caribou |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Aroostook County Courthouse 144 Swenden Street Caribou, ME 04736 Phone: 207.493.3318 Aroostook County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1839.
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
Created 16 March 1839 Penobscot, Somerset and Washington counties. [1]
Boundary Changes
Part added from Piscataquis County in 1844.[1]
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Cities and Towns
- Allagash
- Amity
- Ashland
- Bancroft
- Blaine
- Bridgewater
- Caribou (City)
- Castle Hill
- Caswell
- Chapman
- Crystal
- Dyer Brook
- Eagle Lake
- Easton
- Fort Fairfield
- Fort Kent
- Frenchville
- Grand Isle
- Hamlin
- Hammond
- Haynesville
- Hersey
- Hodgdon
- Houlton
- Island Falls
- Limestone
- Linneus
- Littleton
- Ludlow
- Madawaska
- Mapleton
- Mars Hill
- Masardis
- Merrill
- Monticello
- New Canada
- New Limerick
- New Sweden
- Oakfield
- Orient
- Perham
- Portage Lake
- Presque Isle (City)
- Saint Agatha
- Saint Francis
- Sherman
- Smyrna
- Stockholm
- Van Buren
- Wade
- Wallagrass
- Washburn
- Westfield
- Westmanland
- Weston
- Woodland
Plantations: Cary | Cyr Plantation | Garfield Plantation | Glenwood | Macwahoc | Moro | Nashville Plantation | Oxbow | Reed Plantation (aka Wytopitlock) | Saint John Plantation | Winterville Plantation. For further details see Maine plantations.
Extinct towns and plantations:[2] Benedicta | Connor | Maysville | Silver Ridge Plantation .[3]
Unorganized territories In each territory: listed eastside first going south, then working to the west. (WELS = West of the Easterly Line of the State). For further details see Maine townships.
|
|
|
|
Communities
|
|
|
|
Village • Crouseville
Neighboring Counties
Penobscot | Piscataquis | Somerset | Washington | New Brunswick counties: Carleton | Madawaska | Victoria | York | Quebec counties: Kamouraska | L'Islet | Montmagny | Témiscouata
Resources
Cemeteries
Fairmont Cemetery : Located south of Presque Isle, Aroostook County, Maine. Full name searches
Church
Court
Gazetteers
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Aroostook County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Aroostook County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Aroostook County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Aroostook County
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Aroostook County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 93. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| ||||||||||||
| This Maine-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 May 2013, at 00:09.
- This page has been accessed 3,037 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

