Arundel, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Arundel, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arundel, Sussex
St Nicholas, Arundel, Sussex - geograph org uk - 1652515.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Arundel Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Arundel PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARUNDEL (Holy Trinity), a borough, markettown, and parish, having exclusive jurisdiction, locally in the hundred and rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 10 miles (E. by N.) from Chichester, and 55 (S. by W.) from London.[1] 

The church of St Nicholas dates from 1380 and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The Roman Catholic Cathedral of Our Lady and St Philip Howard, for which see Arundel Cathedral The church was dedicated in 1873 but only became Cathdral to the Roman Catholic Diocese of Arundel and Brighton in 1965

Arundel Cathedral West Sussex.jpg

See also: Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Arundel Wikipedia and a list of places of worship in Arun

Arundel Castle

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935 Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall
Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Arundel, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Arundel, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1560-1680

IGI 1560-1876 1560-1876
PRTS 1560-1901
1560-1836, 1844-1901
1560-1900
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Arundel

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

Arundel Gilbert Poor Law Union

Arundel Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 73-77. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,111 times.