Ascension Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Ascension Parish

Guide to Ascension Parish Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Ascension Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Ascension Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 31, 1807
County Seat Donaldsonville
Courthouse
LAAscensioncourthouse.jpg
Address 300 Houmas St
Donaldsonville, LA 70346
Ascension Parish Clerk of Court Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Ascension Parish Courthouse
Houmas Street
PO Box 192
Donaldsonville, LA 70346
Phone: 225.773.9866

Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1763,
divorce, probate and court records from 1800
and land records from 1770 Allen Parish Courthouse
PO Box G
Oberlin, LA 70655-2007
Phone: 337.639.2803

Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records from 1913 .[1]

Quick Dates

Ascension Parish's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1763
1810 1770 1880


History

Parent Parish

  • 1807--Ascension Parish was created 31 March 1807 from St. James Parish.
    Parish seat: Donaldsonville [1]
  • (book) The story of Ascension Parish, Louisiana, by Sidney A. Marchand, printed by J E Ortlieb Print. Co.
    • page 7, The history of the parish, both French and Spanish. this information will help people who are researching to know whether to look for Spanish, French, or Acadian (Nova Scotia) records for their family histories"
    • page 87 explains where records can be found

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Laascension.png

African American

Biographies

Aucoin, Kleber A.
Babin,Louis U.
Barland, Rev. Charles D.
Welman Bradford
The Bringier Family
Daniel C. Brumfield, MD
Millard R. M. Cushman
William V. Davis
Louis A. Dehon, Jr., DDS
Duke, James R.
Lucien Gautreau
Allen T. Gonzales
Joseph Gonzales
Adam Guedry
John D. Hanson, MD
Levi M. Hargis
Landry, Arthur L.
J. C. LeBlanc
Hon. Paul Leche
Allen W. Martin, MD
Richard McCulloh
Gen. William P. Miles
Capt. John T. Nolan
Diedrich Ohemeyer
Charles Oschwald
Thomas B. Odom
Edward F. Painchaud
George B. Reuss
John L. Rusca
Guy S. St. Amant, M.D.
J. E. St. Martin
Samuel H. St. Martin
Hon. Robert Nichols Sims
James Teller
Paul T. Thibodaux, M.D.
Edward Tiran
Joseph L. Webre, DDS
Theo. L. Webre, DDS

Cemeteries

Books

 





Census

Census Pop.
18102,219
18203,72868.0%
18305,24640.7%
18406,95132.5%
185010,75254.7%
186011,4846.8%
187011,5770.8%
188016,89545.9%
189019,54515.7%
190024,14223.5%
191023,887−1.1%
192022,155−7.3%
193018,438−16.8%
194021,21515.1%
195022,3875.5%
196027,92724.7%
197037,08632.8%
198050,06835.0%
199058,21416.3%
200076,62731.6%
2010106,21538.6%
Ascension Parish Census Data[2]


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court


Ethnic

Records of the field offices for the State of Louisiana, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1872  Reel 0071

Records of the field offices for the State of Louisiana, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1872 Reel 0072

Records of the field offices for the State of Louisiana, Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, 1863-1872 Reel 0073

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 Ascension, Livingston Parishes

U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 Ascension, East Baton Rouge Parishes

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ascension Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Ascension Parish.  

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Newspapers

 

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ascension Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate and Court Records

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Ascension Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on.

Books:

Ascension Parish Louisiana, civil records, 1770-1804 by E L Behrman

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information.

(books) 

Early Ascension Parish, Louisiana marriage index, 1767-1899 by Nicholas Russell Murray, et al

Ascension Parish, Louisiana, 1768-1899 : computer indexed marriage records by Nicholas Russell Murray, et al

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies


Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Ascension Parish, Louisiana p. 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02. 
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August, 2012)
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 16,143 times.