Ash, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Ash, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ash, Shropshire
Christ Church, Ash Magna Shropshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Whitchurch Incorp PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASH, [Our Saviour] or otherwise known as LITTLE ASH, a township with a chapelry, in the parish of Whitchurch, Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Salop, 2¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Whitchurch; containing 208 inhabitants (1848). The church, erected by subscription, was consecrated August 31, 1837. [1]

Ash Christ Church was created a chapelry in the county of Shropshire, and was a part of Whitchurch, Shropshire Ancient Parish until 1844. Places in the parish include: Ash Parva and Ash Magna. The chapel registers of baptisms and burials begin in 1837.

Ash Christ Church is a parish in the Diocese of Lichfield part of the united benefice of Adderley, Ash,Calverley, Ightfield and Moreton Say in the Hodnet deanery and Salop archdeaconry.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Ash parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3]
Great Ash Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined


Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1841-1866 Marr 1845-1852 Bur 1841-1868 Missing Bap 1842, 1853.

Earlier years in the chapel registers exist back to the year 1837 by searching the Bishop's transcripts of Whitchurch Parish--to which these were attached. To view these chapel registers order the films of Whitchurch Parish to a FamilySearch Center near you.

Census records

England's census records commence from 1841 to 1911, inclusively. Most of the census years are available online at the following:

FamilySearch - has some of the census years available online.

FindMyPast - has the complete range of years available online with images attached to each record

Ancestry.co.uk - has complete set of  indexes to the all available years - and with images for all but the 1911 census.

FreeCen.rootsweb.org - about 12 million census entries for various years and places throughout England.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the census years 1841-1891 only, and subscriptions for in-house patrons its 4.600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide, to utilize all censuses for FindMyPast and Ancestry.co.uk and their census indexes and images.


Poor Law Unions

Whitchurch Incorporation Poor Law Union, Shropshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 77-81. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 20:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,129 times.