Ash (near Ridley), KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Ash near Ridley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Ash (near Ridley), Kent
Ash near Wrotham St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Ash near Wrotham St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

ASH, or Ash-next-Ridley, a parish in Dartford district, Kent; 6 miles S of Northfleet r. station, and 7 SSE of Dartford. It includes the hamlets of Hodsol-Street and West-York and part of Culverstone-Green; and it has a post office under Sevenoaks. There is a Baptist chapel and a national school.[1]


Ash-cum- Ridley is a civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent which includes Ash, New Ash Green, Hodsoll Street and Ridley. Ash-cum-Ridley Wikipedia

Ash ( near Ridley) St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish which included Hodsoll Street,Westfield West York and part of Culverstone Green within its boundary.

The church of St Peter Rectory Road Ash has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building Kent Churches website

See Ash-next-Ridley North West Kent Family History Society and St Peter and St Paul Ash -next-Ridley

Ash Ebenezer Baptist Chapel was also an Independent church within this parish.

This parish should not be confused with Ash (near Sandwich), Kent in the same county.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ash (near Ridley), Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Ash (near Ridley), Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1872


FREG 1560-1937
1562-1954
1553-1994
FS BTs 1718-1872 1718-1872 1718-1872
FS PRs 1560-1837 1562-1837; 1754-1821 (banns) 1553-1837
IGI 1560-1812 1562-1837
MED 1563-1997 1563-1997 1563-1997

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Ash next Ridley are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Ash 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Index of England, (1848). Date accessed: 16 July 2103.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 14:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,643 times.