Ashburton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Ashburton, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashburton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Teignbridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Moreton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHBURTON (St. Andrew), a borough, market town, and parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Teignbridge, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 19 miles (S. W.) from Exeter. This town, anciently called Aisbertone. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashburton, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Ashburton, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1603-1837

IGI 1603-1837 1603-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241324.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 77-81. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,041 times.