Ashby, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Ashby, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashby, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

History

Ashby, is a parish in Mutford district, Suffolk; it is near the river Waveney 2½ miles N of Somerleyton railway station, and 5½ miles NW of Lowestoft. [1]

 Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Ashby and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalogue for available records.

Parish Registers

Ashby, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
Ashby, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1553-1835

FMP 1553-1899 1558-1897
FREG 1813-1908
1553-1835, 1838-1900
1813-1900
JOIN
1553-1835

NBI

1558-1897
TGEN
1553-1835

Images of the parish registers for this parish are available on Record Search. The registers begin in 1553 and this volume includes entries for nearby Herringfleet and Gunton in a combined register.

Census Records

There are census records available for Ashby from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Ashby Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

Ashby is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Maps

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

England Jurisdictions


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 20:30.
  • This page has been accessed 769 times.