Ashby with Oby and Thurne, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk
Thurne St Edmund.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Oby beginning 1563 and for Thurne beginning 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Thurne beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Thurne St Edmund is the parish church a Norman church with thatched roof. Thurne is the Saxon word for a thorn bush. 

ASHBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N.) from Acle. Thisparish, which was consolidated with those of Thirne and Oby in 1604. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1939-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records

Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1559-1812
1559-1812
1559-1812
FS ATs 1623-1812 1623-1812 1623-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1559-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Oby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Oby Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1563-1718

FS ATs Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1563-1718

PALL
1563-1718

Thurne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Thurne Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1837

FREG 1813-1880


FS ATs Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Norfolk Record Office reference for combined parish registers of Ashby, Oby and Thurne PD308/1-3, 5-7

This parish's registers do not appear on the FamilySearch website since no microfilm is held for the parish of St Edmund Thurne at the Family History Library.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 81-85. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/thurne-st-edmund/ for information about he parish

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-227733-church-of-st-edmund-thurne British listed buildings

http://www.pocketnorfolkbroads.co.uk/pnbfiles/thurne.html for information about the church and village

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=78778 includes list of rectors of Thurne

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/thurne/thurne.htm Norfolk Churches with photos of the church

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,480 times.