Ashford, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes go to London go to London Parishes


Guide to Ashford, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashford, Middlesex
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Spelthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Staines PLU
Registration District Staines
Records begin
Parish registers: 1699; For more records see Staines
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHFORD (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union of Staines, the hundred of Spelthorne, and county of Middlesex, it is 4 miles (N. E. by N.) from Chertsey. The church is a small edifice, built in 1796.[1]

The Victoria County History of Ashford (1911) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Ashford Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1699
1696
.
Indexes 1699-1710
1760-1876
BritishOrigins[3] 1629-1836 findmypast[4]
1629-1837 findmypast[5]
1629, 1639 BritishOrigins[6]
1696-1812 InternetArchive[7]
1696-1812 TheGenealogist[8]
1696-1812 FamilyRelatives[9]
1696-1812 Joiner[10]
1696-1812 FreeReg[11]
    1790-1812 Ancestry[12]    
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[13]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438825.

1666 Hearth Tax


Manor records

Ashford Manor records survive from the 1200s to the 1900s. The Manorial Documents Register serves as a guide to these records and where they are stored.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashford on GENUKI

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

Bibliography

Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. John M. Wilson(1870-72)

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Spelthorne Hundred: Ashford', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 2: General; Ashford, East Bedfont with Hatton, Feltham, Hampton with Hampton Wick, Hanworth, Laleham, Littleton (1911), pp. 306-309. [british history.ac.uk Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  3. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' findmypast, accessed 8 March 2012.
  6. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  7. W.P.W. Phillimore, Middlesex Parish Registers. Marriages, Vol. IV. (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1912). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  8. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  9. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  10. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  11. Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 6,997 times.