Ashington with Buncton, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ashington with Buncton, Sussex)

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Ashington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashington with Buncton, Sussex
Ashington St Peter& St Paul West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Grinstead
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Thakeham
Registration District Thakeham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1736
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office


Parish History

ASHINGTON cum Buncton (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of West Grinstead, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. W.) from Steyning, and on the road from London to Worthing. At Buncton is a chapel of ease, with remains of Norman arches on the outside of the chancel.[1]

The church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganization
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Ashington with Buncton, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
SOPC = Ashington Sussex Online Parish Clerks


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


PRTS 1571-1900
SOPC Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ashington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Thakeham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-90. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 16:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,510 times.