Ashleworth, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Ashleworth, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashleworth, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester PLU
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHELWORTH (St. Andrew, or St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Gloucester, Upper division of the hundred of Berkeley, though locally in the hundred of Dudstone and King's Barton, W.division of the county of Gloucester, 5½ miles (N. by W.) from Gloucester. It is skirted on the south-east by the navigable river Severn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashleworth, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[4]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[6]
ASHLEWORTH PARISH (1566) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1566-1644, 1660-1812
DEAN 1566-1923 1566-1978 1566-1986
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1566-1812 1566-1838 1566-1838
JOIN 1566-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288761.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 85-88. Date accessed: 09 April 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 7 March 2014. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  5. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 23:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,404 times.