Ashley County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Ashley_County

Guide to Ashley County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Felsenthal National Wildlife Refuge is home to the American Alligator it is located in South-central Arkansas (Ashley County), Bradley, and Union Counties.
County QuickStart:


Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Ashley County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Ashley County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 30, 1848
County Seat Hamburg
Courthouse
Address Ashley County Courthouse<br>215 E Jefferson Street<br>Hamburg, AR 71646<br>Phone: 870.853.2020 <br>

Contents

County Courthouse

Ashley County Courthouse
215 E Jefferson Street
Hamburg, AR 71646
Phone: 870.853.2020

County Clerk has marriage, probate, and land records from 1848. 
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.[1]

Beginning years for Ashley County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1848 1914* 1849 1849 1849
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1848--Ashley County was created 30 November 1848 from Chicot, Union and Drew Counties.

County seat: Hamburg [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Neighboring Counties

Bradley  • Chicot  • Drew  • Morehouse Parish, Louisiana  • Union  • Union Parish, Louisiana  • West Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Ashley CountyUnion CountyChicot CountyDrew CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyUnion ParishWest Carroll ParishEast Carroll ParishMorehouse ParishARAshley.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890.

Cemeteries

Online Ashley County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Template:AR History Intro Ashley

  • Etheridge, Y. W. History of Ashley County, Arkansas. Van Buren, Ark. : Press-Argus, 1959.
  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Ashland County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The area that is now Ashley County contained farming settlements dating back thousands of years.
  • The mound at Lake Enterprise, near Wilmot, is possibly the oldest mound in Arkansas, belonging to the Archaic Period (9500—650 BC).
  • By AD 1700, the area had no permanent villages.
  • 1818 - The Quapaw ceded what would be Ashley County to the United States government.
  • 1826 - When U.S. surveyor Nicholas Rightor entered the Arkansas Territory , he found settlers who had come to a land that they found to be abundantly fertile and in which game and fish were plentiful.
  • 1848 - November 30 - Ashley County was organized.
  • 1855 - By this time, many farms were producing cotton, corn, wheat, potatoes, and livestock. Timber was rafted down the Saline River.
  • Ashley County experienced solid growth in the years leading up to the Civil War. From a population of 2,058 in 1850, the county had grown to 8,590 in 1860. The Civil War interrupted this growth, so that by 1870, the population had dropped to 8,042.
  • Congress’s 1867 passage of “An Act for the More Efficient Government of the Rebel States” divided the South into five districts and implemented martial law in 1868.
  • 1868 - When the Fourteenth Amendment was passed , Arkansas refused to ratify it.
  • 1890's - The beginning of what was to become one of Arkansas’s most important economic developments: the wood products industry.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ashley County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ashley County, Arkansas:


- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company E
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate).

     Captain Calvin L. Collier. They'll Do To Tie To by , USAF (Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10 

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashley County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1849-1893 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration accounts 1849-1889; Dockets 1872-1893; Letters of administration and guardianship 1849-1868.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashley County, Arkansas Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Ashley County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Ashley County, Arkansas
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Ashley County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
SateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Ashley County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Ashley County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Ashley County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 16:47.
  • This page has been accessed 14,190 times.