Ashow, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Ashow, Warwickshire
Ashow Church The Assumption of Our Lady.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Warwick PLU
Registration District Warwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonleigh
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ashow The Assumption of Our Lady is  a 12 th century church and Ancient parish in the small village and civil parish of Ashow, which is close to neighbouring Kenilworth, Warwickshire . Ashow, is a parish in the district and county of Warwick; it is on the river Avon, and adjacent to Stoneleigh, near the Northwestern railway, 2½ miles ESE of Kenilworth. The post office is under Kenilworth.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashow, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Ashow, Warwickshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1733-1807 1733-1807 1733-1807 1733-1807 1733-1807 1733-1807
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1663-1832 Marr 1633-1831 Bur 1663-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464174.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2014, at 20:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,118 times.