Ashtabula County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Ashtabula County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Ashtabula County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Ashtabula County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Ashtabula County Courthouse.jpg
Address Ashtabula Co. Courthouse
25 West Jefferson Street
Jefferson, Ohio 44047
Ashtabula County Website
Phone: 440.576.3637
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Ashtabula County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1812
1867

1798
1811
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Geauga and Trumbull Counties 10 February 1807.[1]
  • County Seat: Jefferson


Neighboring Counties

Lake County  • Geauga County  • Trumbull County  • Erie County  • Crawford County  • Mercer County


Ashtabula CountyTrumbull CountyMahoning CountyPortage CountyLawrence CountyGeauga CountySummit CountyCuyahoga CountyLake CountyMercer CountyButler CountyVenango CountyCrawford CountyErie CountyOHAshtabula1.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Austin Cemetery - Austinburg | Beal Family Farm Cemetery -Cherry Valley | Denmark Cemetery - South Denmark
East Trumbull Cemetery - Trumbull Township | Hartsgrove Cemetery - South East | Hall Road - Pierpont
Lake Road Cemetery -Kingsville | Maple Grove - Andover | Mount Pleasant Cemetery - Geneva
Pioneer Cemetery - Windsor | Roberts Cemetery - Wayne Township | Windsor Cemetery - Windsor


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18207,382
183014,58497.6%
184023,72462.7%
185028,76721.3%
186031,81410.6%
187032,5172.2%
188037,13914.2%
189043,65517.5%
190051,44817.9%
191059,54715.7%
192065,54510.1%
193068,6314.7%
194068,6740.1%
195078,69514.6%
196093,06718.3%
197098,2375.6%
1980104,2156.1%
199099,821−4.2%
2000102,7282.9%

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashtabula County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Ashtabula County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. ===== Finding More Land Records =====

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashtabula County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohashtabula.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Ashtabula County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ashtabula County.
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry. Company F
- 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Ashtabula County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers The Star Beacon Ashtabula, Ohio 4626 Park Ave. Ashtabula, OH 44004
Online Newspaper Abstracts


Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Ashtabula County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Ashtabula County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • 1798-1892 - Wills and probate records Courtesy of OhioGenWeb Archives
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashtabula County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Ashtabula County Courthouse
25 W Jefferson Street
Jefferson, OH 44047
Phone: 440.576.3637

Probate Court has birth and death records 1867-1908, marriage records from 1811 and probate records from 1880’s.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1909.
Court Clerk has divorce records from 1811 and court records from 1800’s.
County Recorder has land records from 1800.[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Ashtabula County, Ohio is the Ashtabula Ohio Family History Center.For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.


Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

  • 1800–1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. Name index of tax records as recorded with the County Auditor of each county. Entries are recorded in voucher books, one person per page. The majority of the tax records in this collection are for the years 1816 through 1838. Currently (2013) this collection is 17% complete. Additional records will be added as they are completed.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashtabula County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Ashtabula County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Ashtabula County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Ashtabula County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ashtabula County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

  • A great source for transcribed records pertaining to Ashtabula County, Ohio, is the Ashtabula County site at USGenWeb. The site contains a multitude of databases, including obituaries, probate, military, tax lists,marriages as early as 1811, squirrel hunter records and many more -- all searchable through the main page.
  • Another website with multiple databases of transcribed records is Genealogy Trails. The Ashtabula County section includes many marriages, births from 1867, obituaries & death records. Not all databases are complete.

Places

Populated Places

Cities

  • Ashtabula
    * Conneaut
    * Geneva

Villages

  • Andover
    * Geneva-on-the-Lake
    * Jefferson
    * North Kingsville
    * Orwell
    * Roaming Shores
    * Rock Creek

Townships

  • Andover
    * Ashtabula
    * Austinburg
    * Cherry Valley
    * Colebrook
    * Denmark
    * Dorset
    * Geneva
    * Harpersfield
    * Hartsgrove
    * Jefferson
    * Kingsville
    * Lenox
    * Monroe
    * Morgan
    * New Lyme
    * Orwell
    * Pierpont
    * Plymouth
    * Richmond
    * Rome
    * Saybrook
    * Sheffield
    * Trumbull
    * Wayne
    * Williamsfield
    * Windsor

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 540, Ashtabula County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 22,893 times.