Ashton-upon-Mersey, St Martin, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Ashton-upon-Mersey

Guide to Ashton-upon-Mersey, St Martin, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashton-upon-Mersey, St Martin, Cheshire
St martins ashton upon mersey.jpg
St martins ashton upon mersey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHTON-upon-Mersey (St. Martin), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, and is 1¾ mile (N.) from Altrincham; it includes the township of Sale, and part of the township of Ashton. There are places of worship for Calvinists, Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists, and Unitarians. [1]

St Martin's Church, Ashton upon Mersey is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire. The first church, probably timber framed, was built in 1304 on the site of an old Saxon burial place. In 1704 it was destroyed by a storm. A new church was built in 1714 for Joshua Allen. In 1874 a baptistry by W. H. Brakspear was added.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church Records

Ashton upon Mersey, St. Martin, is the ancient parish church. 

Ashton-upon-Mersey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Ashton-upon-Mersey Parish (1605) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1649-1871
1659-1871
1651-1871
FS PR's 1649-1910
  NONE
1659-1934
  NONE
1651-1939
  NONE
FS BT'S 1658-1876   NONE
1658-1842
  NONE
1658-1876
  NONE
FMP (£)
 


1605-1890
1605-1890
JOIN
1605-1837

NBI

1605-1890

The parish registers for christenings 1636-1880, marriages 1636-1888, banns 1914-1940, and burials 1636-1890, are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. CRO reference: P92/1/1-4, P92/2/1-2, P92/5200/1-6, 8-9. P92/3/1-3, P92/4, P92/5/1-2, P92/9/1-5.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Historical Records (formerly Record Search) at FamilySearch.org.

Bishop's transcripts for Ashton-on-Mersey, 1605-1876, are also deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. CRO reference: EDB 10

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1636-1731. 2107085 Items 10 - 11
Baptisms, 1731-1950. Banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1731-1856. Burials, 1731-1783. 2107086
Marriage banns, 1914-1940. Marriages, 1856-1947. Burials, 1783-1890 2107087
Marriage banns certificates, 1785, 1868. Death certificates, 1838, 1853. Burials, 1890-1939. 2107088 Items 1 - 4


Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1605, 1607, 1619, 1630, 1632-1637, 1658-1661, 1663, 1666, 1668-1672, 1674-1676, 1679-1682, 1684, 1692-1697, 1701-1702, 1704-1707, 1709-1711, 1713, 1715-1790, 1792-1806. 1647805 Item 2
Baptisms 1807-1856. Marriages 1806-1842. Burials 1806-1856. 1647806
Baptisms, 1857-1876 Burials, 1856-1876. 1647807 Item 1

Bowdon, St. Mary was the ancient parish church for those parts of the township which were not covered by St Martin (above). 

Ashton-upon-Mersey, St. Mary Magdalene, Moss Lane, was built in 1872 and became a separate parish in 1894. Registers of Baptisms from 1894 and Marriages from 1875 are still at the church which has no burial ground.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Baptist Union Chapel, Ashton Lane. Built in 1875.
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Park Road. Built in 1856. Some records are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Independent Chapel, School Lane. Built in 1802. Registers 1799–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Ashton-upon-Mersey- School Lane Independent
    Baptisms-1799-1836- MFPR 292 The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Chapel Lane. Built in 1867.
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Barkers Lane. Built in 1853. Registers of marriages 1913–1963 are at Ashton-upon-Mersey- Barker's Lane Wesleyan
    Marriages-1913-1963- Archives M275 The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
  • Ashton upon Mersey, Unitarian Chapel, Atkinson Road.
  • Ashton upon Mersey, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Cross Street. Built in 1878.
  • Cross Street Chapel (Ashton-on-Mersey: Independent [possibly the same as the School Lane church above]). Records are on microfilm at the National Archives, London: Baptisms and births, 1799-1836. RG-4 series no. 304. Also on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City: Church records FHL Film 020045 Item 16.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Altrincham (1837–98)
  • Bucklow (1898–1937)
  • Manchester post 1974

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 90-96. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 22–24
  •  Renshaw, Charles J. (1914), History of the Church of S.Martin Ashton-upon-Mersey (2nd (1950) ed.), Beech Hurst, Ashton-upon-Mersey

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 4,646 times.