Ashton in Makerfield, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire
St Thomas' Church, Ashton-in-Makerfield.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Wigan PLU
Registration District Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1698
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHTON-IN-MAKERFIELD, or Ashton-le-Willows, is a township, in the union of Wigan, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles (S.) from Wigan, and 7 miles (N. N. W.)from Warrington. The township was until lately, with Haydock, a chapelry in the parish of Winwick. By an act of parliament for the division of Winwick, passed in 1845, the Brynn-End and the Garswood-End were made a separate parish, called the rectory of Ashton; the Town-End was annexed to the adjoining township of Haydock, and the two places formed into another and distinct parish, called the vicarage of St. Thomas (the Apostle) in Ashton. The Independents, Quakers, Unitarians,and Roman Catholics have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions available for Ashton in Makerfield St Thomas and its chapel of ease, Downall Green Holy Trinity (Garswood-End).

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ASHTON IN MAKERFIELD ST THOMAS PARISH (1698) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1822-1837 None None
LOPC 1698-1900 1700-1753; 1845-1909 1746-1903
DOWNALL GREEN HOLY TRINITY or GARSWOOD-END CHAPELRY (1838) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1838-1882  None None


Other important considerations:

The baptisms and marriages for Winwick Parish are online--to which St Thomas Ashton in Makerfield was annexed as a chapel of ease, until 1845, when it then became a separate parish by Act of Parliament. If you are searching for ancestry in Ashton in Makerfield prior to 1845, be certain to include a search in the Winwick Parish (and its chapelries') registers as well. Here is a breakdown of those years found online at FamilySearch and at the Lancashire Online Parish Clerk (LOPC) for Winwick Parish:

WINIWICK PARISH (1563) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FamilySearch

1563-1620; 1733-1816

1700-1820 None
Lancs OPC 1753-1941 1733-1843 1733-1837

Be sure to visit (and search) the Winwick Parish's page to search all of it chapelries.


Original records

While FamilySearch has microfilmed the St Thomas Ashton in Makerfield Parish registers, baptisms, marriages and burials from 1698-1900, these have not been completely transcribed and published online with the exception of the baptisms (see above). However, the Parish of Winwick which formerly was the mother or ancient parish until about 1845, has been transcribed, indexed and published online on the web site. :

 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.

Genealogy

Hart of Anderton, Ashton-inMakerfield and Hindley. by Swain, Margaret. Family  History and Pedigree chart of James Hart and Ellen Roscoe-Kirkham, dating from 1640-1942.  Article in Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. magazine, vol. 7 no.3. pages 18-29. FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Wigan Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 16:20.
  • This page has been accessed 7,776 times.