Ashton in Makerfield Holy Trinity, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ashton in Makerfield Holy Trinity, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapel  register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashton in Makerfield Holy Trinity, Lancashire
Holy Trinity Church, Ashton-in-Makerfield Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Wigan PLU
Registration District Wigan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winwick
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

ASHTON-IN-MAKERFIELD (Holy Trinity), or Ashton-le-Willows, a township, in the union of Wigan, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles (S.) from Wigan, and 7 miles (N. N. W.) from Warrington. The township was until lately, with Haydock, a chapelry in the parish of Winwick; and consists of three parts, viz.: the Town-End, the Brynn-End, and the Garswood-End. The church, dedicated to the Trinity, is situated near Downall-Green, in Garswood-End; it was built in 1838, principally at the expense of the rector of Winwick, and is a cruciform edifice in the early English style. The Independents, Quakers, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Census records


Poor Law Unions

Wigan Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

Ashton in Makerfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 90-96.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,185 times.