Ashton under Lyne Christ Church, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ashton under Lyne Christ Church, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashton under Lyne Christ Church, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

ASHTON-UNDER-LYNE, a market town, parish, parliamentary borough, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 6 miles (E.)from Manchester, 58 (S. E.)from Lancaster, and 197(N. W. by N.) from London. The district of Christ Church was constituted in March, 1846, and became an ecclesiastical parish in 1847. The church is situated in the Charlestown suburb.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Ashton under Lyne Christ Church chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne St. Michael to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ASHTON UNDER LYNE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1846) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1906 None 1848-1929
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1596) Indexes (ancient parish containing ASHTON UNDER LYNE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 1768-1892
LOPC None 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ashton under Lyne Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne St. Michael to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306917.

The White Family Leitrim to Lidcombe via Lancashire by Morling, Loreley A. Family history and 2 family trees of Henry White and first wife Anne Robinson and 2nd wife Mary Rutherford dating from 1818-1978, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 13 no.2, pages 16-25, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 13.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashton under Lyne on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 27 August 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 3,627 times.