Ashton under Lyne St Michael, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASHTON-UNDER-LYNE(St. Michael), is a market town, parish, parliamentary borough, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 6 miles (E.)from Manchester, 58 (S. E.)from Lancaster, and 197 (N. W. by N.) from London, comprising the parochial divisions of Ashton-town, Audenshaw, Hartshead, and Knott-Lanes. There are places of worship, and, generally, schools also, belonging to the Independents, Wesleyans, Independent Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Baptists, Stephenites, Latter-day Saints, and Israelites.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Ashton under Lyne St. Michael parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1596) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 1768-1892
LOPC None 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720
FMP
1594-1720
ASHTON UNDER LYNE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1846-1906 None 1848-1929
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST JAMES Chapelry (1863) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1863-1915 1866-1930
LOPC 1898-1908 None None
FS None None None
FREG 1866-1898 None None
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST PETER Chapelry (1826) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages  Burials 
FS None 1840-1935 1825-1966 
LOPC None 1891-1917 1839-1844
AC 1825-1930
AC Various Yrs Various Yrs  Various Yrs
FREG None 1840-1882, 1891-1908 1825-1840, 1844-1849, 1853-1858
  AUDENSHAW ST STEPHEN Chapelry  (1844) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  None  None  None
CBMD 1837-1974 1846-2007 1837-1974
LOPC None 1885-1907 None
BARDSLEY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1844) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages  Burials
FS 1844-1874 1844-1917 1845-1934
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1844-1974 None
HURST Chapelry (1849) Indexes
  Baptisms Marriages   Burials 
AC 1849-1915 1849-1930 1849-1976
LOPC None 1849-1907/banns to 1880  1849-1916
LEES (HEY) ST JOHN Chapelry (1742) Indexes - see also Rochdale Parish

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1788-1812  No marriage registers 1758-1848, 1868-1869
LOPC None None 1867-1887
AC None None None
LEESFIELD Chapelry (1846) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1847-1909 1848-1915 1848-1905
LOPC None None None
AC None None None
MOSSLEY ST GEORGE Chapelry (1756) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC None None None
FS 1756-1836 1769-1820 1768-1838;1871-1891
AC None None None
STALEYBRIDGE OLD ST GEORGE Chapelry (1776) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages  Burials 
LOPC 1776-1906 1864-1906 1777-1867
AC None None None
FS 1782-1822 No marr reg. till 1864 None
STALEYBRIDGE NEW ST GEORGE Chapelry (1841) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC  1846-1930 1841-1901  1846-1901 
FS None None None
AC None None None
WOODHOUSES Chapelry (1871) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
Original Records

These registers are preserved at the Manchester Archives and Local Studies Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester M2 5PD

Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Ashton under Lyne St Michael's parish for the years 1594-1843. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306917.

Morling, Loreley A.  The White Family of Leitrim to Lidcombe via Lancashire.  History and family tree of Henry White and 1. Anne Robinson, 2, Mary Rutherford, with the following surnames. Nunnerley, Baldwin, Slenburg, Lover, Dyson, Kegg and Sargent.  A branch went out to Lidcombe, N.S.W. and Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Sockiety Magazine vol. 13, no. 2, pages 16-25, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 14:51.
  • This page has been accessed 9,273 times.