Ashwellthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk ParishesGotoarrow.png Ashwellthorpe

Guide to Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall is a civil parish in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall Wikipedia. It is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. Ashwellthorpe All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building Images of the church and history are found at Simon Knott's Norfolk Churches website

SHWELTHORPE (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Wymondham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Depwade

Church records

Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs
1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN

1728-1811


NTA 1725-1812
1728-1811
1725-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
Deposited records are held at the Norfolk Record Office from 1558 under reference PD 53/1-8

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.

  • 1891 Surname Index courtesy of Pat Greetham and located on the Norfolk Transcription Archives.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Depwade Poor Law Union

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-100. Date Accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,550 times.