Ashwick, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ashwick, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Ashwick, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashwick, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kilmersdon
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Shepton Mallet
Registration District Shepton Mallet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1701
Bishop's Transcripts: 1595
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

ASHWICK, a parish in Shepton-Mallet district, Somerset; on the Fosseway, near Masbury camp, 3¾ miles NNE of Shepton-Mallet railway station. It includes part of the hamlet of Oakhill. There are three dissenting chapels.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Ashwick, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1598-1913 (gaps)
1595-1913 (gaps)
1595-1913 (gaps)
FS 1595-1812

1595-1640, 1755-1837



Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Parish Register

Church Vital Records

Churchwarden Records

Oakhill registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Oakhill Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474600.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[8] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Wilson, John M;, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Land Tax Assessment Records

Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2015, at 18:14.
  • This page has been accessed 6,163 times.