Askrigg, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Askrigg

Guide to Askrigg, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Askrigg, Yorkshire
St Oswald Askrigg.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bainbridge Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Askrigg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1701
Bishop's Transcripts: 1624
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

ASKRIGG, a market-town and chapelry (St Oswald), created in 1739, in the parish of Aysgarth, wapentake of Hang-West, North Riding, Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Countersett, Nappa, Wraxhall, Woodhall, and Newbigging. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1][2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Askrigg exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
ASKRIGG CHAPELRY (1624) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1697-1865 1697-1865 1703-1923 1703-1923 1701-1876 1701-1876
FREG 1701-1788, 1813-1848 1728-1787, 1813-1837 1701-1715, 1728-1876
FS 1675-1880 1624, 1674-1923 1702-1880
NBI

1776-1876

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Askrigg and comprising the whole ancient parish of Aysgarth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Aysgarth page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Bainbridge Gilbert Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Aysgarth Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 96-100. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
  2. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  4. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,051 times.