Aslacton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Aslacton, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aslacton, Norfolk
Aslacton St Michael.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aslacton is a village and civil parish in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk and has one of the 124 surviving round tower churches in Norfolk.Aslacton Wikipedia Aslacton St Michael is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

It is a mediaeval Pilgrim church with a Saxon tower and there are traces of Saxon masonry in the Norman nave. The Parish church of St Michael has been designated as a grade I listed building British Listed building Images of the church and its history are found at Simon Knott's Norfolk Churches website. A manorial history is found in Francis Blomefield'Hundred of Depwade: Aslacton', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 5 (1806), pp. 177-181. at British History Online

ASLACTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from Long Stratton. [1]

Church Records

Aslacton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[6]
Aslacton, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1725-1811

NTA 1725-1812
1725-1811
1725-1811

The parish registers do not appear on FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library. The deposited records are at the Norfolk Record Office reference PD490/1-5 Archdeacon's transcripts are on film # 1526806 Item # 13 and online at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection.

Census Records

  • FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
  • [1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
  • [2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.


Poor Law Unions

Depwade Poor Law Union

Registration Districts

  • Depwade


Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes beginning with A


Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851 

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-100. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  6. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2014, at 00:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,823 times.