Asotin County, WashingtonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Washington
Asotin County
Guide to Asotin County Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Asotin County, Washington | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Washington | |
![]() Location of Washington in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 27, 1883 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Asotin |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Asotin County Courthouse PO Box 159 Asotin, WA 99402-0159 Phone: (509) 243–4181 Asotin County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 27 October 1883 from Garfield County
- County Seat: Asotin
- The name "Asotin" is from the Nez Perce language and means "place of eel" from the abundance of eels caught there.
- Neighboring Counties: Garfield | Whitman | Nez Perce County, Idaho | Wallowa County, Oregon
- Boundary Changes: No counties created from Asotin County.[1]
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
Transcriptions of several cemeteries in Asotin County, many with a single burial, are available online at Interment.net. A listing of some additional cemeteries of Asotin County, along with some photographs of headstones, is also available online.
Census
- 1889
- 1890 Veterans
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
- 1940
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Japanese
World War II Files, 1942-1946
Public Welfare/Social Security Department, (Japanese Internment) Assistance Cases, Evacuee Referrals for Resettlement and Assistance, 1945-1946 from the Washington State Archives – Digital Archives
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Asotin County, Washington (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Washington State Digital Archives has digitized various types of naturalization-related records, including declarations of intentions, delayed birth files, naturalization affidavits, notifications of application for admission to US citizenship, orders fixing naturalization terms, petitions and records, petitions, receipts for certificates of citizenship, record of final decrees of citizenship and record of petitions dockets. Depending on the county, records range from 1854-1988.
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Asotin County Courthouse
PO Box 159
Asotin, WA 99402-0159
Phone: (509) 243–4181
County Auditor has birth and marriage records
from 1891 and death records 1891-1907.
County Clerk has divorce and probate records.
County Assessor has land records from 1891. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Marriages from 3 Feb 1884 to 6 Jun 1907 are available on the Western States Marriage index website.
- Washington State Digital Archives has a database of Asotin Marriage Records from 1900 to 2003.
Death
- Washington Death Certificates 1907-1960 A free internet index to the 1907-1960 death certificates can be found at FamilySearch Record Search, no images are available. A transcribed death certificate may contain such information as name of the deceased, date and place of death, age, gender, birth date and birth place, mother’s maiden name and name of spouse, place of residence, occupation and certificate numbers.
Websites
- The Asotin County WAGenWeb Project, a member of The WAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Asotin County.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Asotin County. (Mirror site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library Catalog for Asotin County.
- Asotin County, Washington Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Places
Cities
|
|
Communities
|
|
|
Asotin County Washington Genealogy References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Asotin County, Washington page 732, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 13:39.
- This page has been accessed 2,356 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

