Astbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Astbury

Guide to Astbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Astbury, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572; Separate registers exist for Mossley Holy Trinity beginning 1845 and also for Odd Rode beginning 1809 and also for Somerford beginning 1691
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASTBURY (St. Mary), is a parish, that is chiefly in the union of Congleton, consisting of the townships of Eaton and Somerford-Booths in the hundred of Macclesfield, and the market-town of Congleton, and the townships of Astbury-Newbold, Buglawton, Davenport, Hulme-Walfield, Moreton with Alcumlow, Odd Rode, Radnor, Smallwood, and Somerford, in the hundred of Northwich, county of Chester. There are also churches or chapels at Congleton, Buglawton, Mossley, Rode, Smallwood, and Somerford; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish. Astbury St Mary is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and originally included Davenport, Eaton, Holy Trinity, Hulme Walfield, Hulmewalfield, Moreton cum Alcumlow, Somerford Radnor, Mossley, Newbold Astbury, Odd Rode, Radnor, Somerford, Somerford Booths, and Mosley. [1]

The first church on the site was in the Saxon era but the present church dates from the 15th century. It is unusual in that its spire is at a distance from the main body of the although although it is attached to it by a porch.

A Saxon church was on the site at the time of the Domesday Book and it was replaced by a Norman church. It was originally the mother church of Congleton.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Church Records

Astbury St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers Record Collection 1614792 FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Astbury St Mary Parish (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1820-1830
  NONE
1768-1775
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1596-1898   NONE
1593-1890
  NONE
1600-1898
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bishop's transcripts for Astbury, 1593-1898 Includes the registers of the Chapelry of Congleton 1803?-1858; includes chapelries of Buglawton, Mossley, Smallwood 1851-1858; includes Odd Rode 1861-1863; includes Hulme Walfield 1859-1877. Cheshire Record Office: EDB 11 Includes records for Congleton, Buglawton, Mossley, Odd Rode, Smallwood and Hulme Walfield, townships and/or chapelries in Astbury parish.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in Record Search.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts for Astbury, 1593-1898 FHL Film

Baptisms: 1745-1752, 1754-1759, 1767-1817. Marriages: 1743, 1749-1760, 1766-1817. Burials: 1743, 1748-1760, 1766-1769, 1771-1817.

BRITISH 1655359 Item 6
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1817-1828. BRITISH 1655360
Baptisms, 1829-1837.  Marriages, 1829-1836.  Burials 1828-1837. BRITISH 1655361
Baptisms, burials, 1838-1852. BRITISH 1655362
Baptisms, burials, 1853-1898. BRITISH 1655363
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1593-1594, 1596, 1600, 1607-1609, 1611-1612, 1614-1615, 1617-1621, 1803-1815.  Baptisms, marriages, 1816 (Astbury). BRITISH 1647807 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1816-1825. BRITISH 1647808
Marriages, (February-December), 1825. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1826-1833. BRITISH 1647809
Baptisms, 1834-1840, 1851. Marriages, 1834-1836. Burials, Aug.1833-1840. BRITISH 1647849
Baptisms, burials, 1851-1872. (Astbury, Congleton, Buglawton, Mosley, Smallwood) BRITISH 1647850
Baptisms, burials, 1873-1898. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1626-1748. BRITISH 1647851
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1748-1802. BRITISH 1647852
Baptisms and burials, 1889-1898. BRITISH 1655364 Item 1

Registers of Baptisms 1572–1953, Marriages 1572–1969 and Burials 1572–1970 Cheshire Record Office
Document Reference Mf 183  Astbury Parish Date 1572-1982 Description Registers 1572-1982.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wornish Nook, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1852.  Originally a Primitive Methodist  Chapel later Wesleyan.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Document Reference EMS 94 Somerford Booths Wornish Nook Methodist Chapel
Description Various records1882-91
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems94&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Macclesfield (1937–74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire West (post1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Congleton

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 13,62, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 25–30
  • Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, pp. 139, 141, ISBN 0901347353
  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Works of Art, London: Batsford, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 16:27.
  • This page has been accessed 5,676 times.